It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 12:19 am





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 
86 300 4 barrel carb?? 
Author Message
Registered User

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:40 pm
Posts: 9
Post 86 300 4 barrel carb??
Im trying to find out what the best carb is for a 86 f150 4x4 manual trans. I have the offenhauser dual plane intake on it. I have a 390 cfm holley and I don't think its enough fuel. I have no power till the secondaries open


Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:31 pm
Profile
VIP Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 10:25 pm
Posts: 4657
Location: FRENCHTOWN
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
The 390 is plenty bid enough. Something else is amiss.

_________________
FORD 300 INLINE SIX - THE BEST KEPT SECRET IN DRAG RACING


Tue Apr 12, 2011 10:10 pm
Profile
Registered User

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:40 pm
Posts: 9
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
what about the timing??? this truck has a computer and the stock 1 barrel had a throttle position sensor mounted to it. it also has a MAP sensor and the ignition module is mounted to the distributor (no vacuum advance) should i change the ignition system to something else?? do i need to put a vacuum advance distributor??


Tue Apr 12, 2011 11:10 pm
Profile
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 5:46 pm
Posts: 5969
Location: Flagstaff, Az. 86005 near the old Route 66
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
Quote:
what about the timing??? this truck has a computer and the stock 1 barrel had a throttle position sensor mounted to it. it also has a MAP sensor and the ignition module is mounted to


Yes you will need to lose all of it the computer, throttle position sensor MAP sensor and the ignition module is mounted and the distributor. If you want you could keep the coil they are a good unit.

Quote:
the distributor (no vacuum advance) should i change the ignition system to something else?? do i need to put a vacuum advance distributor??


Yes you would need to swap out that distrib. for DSI or II 1975 up. Think if you found the 83-84 setup you can use the wire harness to plug it right into existing. Probally an old post on this as is a common swap to get rid of the feedback carbs. Otherwise you need to do some minor rewire to hook up the older distrib's.

_________________
A bad day Drag Racing is still better than a good day at work!

My fleet of Sixes: 1954 Customline 223 3 speed with O/D, 1963 Fairlane project drag car with BB6, 1977 Maverick 250 with C4, 1994 F-150 a 300 with 5 speed.


Last edited by bubba22349 on Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:23 pm, edited 2 times in total.



Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:35 am
Profile
VIP Member

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 3:42 pm
Posts: 873
Location: Helena, MT. pop. enough
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
84 started the computerized feedback carb and TFI coil & distributor. For the simplest fix, You will need the single vacuum advance distributor from 75-83 and the control box to match it and the engine wire harness from the 75-83, along with the coil for a 75-83.

For additional ways to do this you could check out http://www.gofastforless.com Therein are ways to use the TFI coil and GM HEI modules.

Your symptoms could also be indicitive of vacuum leak(s) but if that were the case I would expect the engine to miss alot as well.

_________________
1 "76" F150 RC, LB, 2WD, 300, NP435, 9" open 3.00, special order 2-76/Delivered 4-76. Still "new".

1 "73-79" F150 RC/SS/SB/4WD, "84"-300, T18, NP205, 9" open 3.50, Dana 44 3.50 open, Offy DP, Holley 470, EFI + single 2.5" exhaust. Gathered from 15+ donor/parts trucks. "Fubar". Runs good, safe, still needs details/project continues.


Wed Apr 13, 2011 10:26 am
Profile
Registered User

Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 5:07 pm
Posts: 189
Location: central oklahoma
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
i have just performed this swap (see thread titled "my son's 86 f-150"). i used a carter-weber yf carb, and it works great. like ftf says, your carb is PLENTY big enough.

i was not able to do an actual "plug and play," because the plug ends were different. however, the swap was simple. be sure you get the right color module (where the wires come out, there is a plastic piece on the plug). i used blue, successfully. you will have two wires that have to feed hot to the module. you MUST use an old style coil, or do the gm module swap. since i did not do that, i am not recommending it (though others do, and i'm sure with good results). since i live in oklahoma, i used an old oil field ignition coil, which is significantly hotter than a standard coil.

the most fun i have had is removing all the crap i no longer need because the DFC system is now not operational. my engine bay now has a much cleaner look without eighteen miles of vacuum lines running over it.


Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:49 pm
Profile
Registered User

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:40 pm
Posts: 9
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
Thank you all for the input. It is very useful information. I messed with it today before work and im possitive its all the computer stuff that is causing my problem. I hooked a vaccum line to the map sensor straight off the intake and its running good. Im gonna start tracking down all the parts to switch out the dizzy for one with vaccum advance. Anything else I should do to it to help?


Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:32 pm
Profile
Registered User

Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 5:07 pm
Posts: 189
Location: central oklahoma
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
well, it's a little late to say this, since you've already changed the carb, BUT, i would say do one thing at a time. make sure what you do works, then move on to the next thing. definitely get at least a test light, or better yet a simpson meter.

by only doing one thing at a time, trouble shooting is SO much easier.


Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:58 pm
Profile
VIP Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:14 pm
Posts: 2654
Location: LaFollette Tn.
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
:beer: Hi Luckyman.I have an 84 F150 with the 300.On mine all the computer crap was a stand alone system.Unbolted tha gang plug from the computer,snipped off the wires from the gang plug and yanked it all out through the firewall grommet.To install the DS2 system it was ALL plug and play.All of the correct DS2 plugins were already in the TRUCK wiring harness.
All I had to do was drill a couple of mounting holes in the inner fender for the ign controll.That part is plastic,so I ran an extra ground to the firewall from one of the mounting bolts just for insurance.
Total time for the change over was about 1 hour.(I`m slow and fumble fingered).
Leo

_________________
"People never lie so much as after a hunt,during a war,or before an election".
Otto von Bismarck


Wed Apr 13, 2011 10:09 pm
Profile
Registered User

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:40 pm
Posts: 9
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
We'll chico71 I swaped the carb because half the computer crap was unhooked and most of the vaccum lines were plugged off. The truck had a bad flat spot in it under a slight load and when I started to adjust if the screws were messed up. Then it all went down hill. I work for a parts store so I looked at prices of a stock carb and a 4 barrel and they were close and I always wanted to buid a six so here I am now. Thanks again for all the info guys. It is graciously appreciated


Wed Apr 13, 2011 10:48 pm
Profile
Registered User

Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:28 am
Posts: 226
Location: Salem Or
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
My 84 E-150 already had an 83 distributor/Pertronix/MSD setup when I bought it. Now that I've tracked down what was defective in my Holley 390 and added heat, running a 1 barrel is my idea of no fun whatsoever. Mileage is comparable when the secondaries are left napping. Do it.


Thu Apr 14, 2011 10:14 am
Profile
VIP Member

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 3:42 pm
Posts: 873
Location: Helena, MT. pop. enough
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
woodbutcher wrote:
:beer: Hi Luckyman.I have an 84 F150 with the 300.On mine all the computer crap was a stand alone system.Unbolted tha gang plug from the computer,snipped off the wires from the gang plug and yanked it all out through the firewall grommet.To install the DS2 system it was ALL plug and play.All of the correct DS2 plugins were already in the TRUCK wiring harness.
All I had to do was drill a couple of mounting holes in the inner fender for the ign controll.That part is plastic,so I ran an extra ground to the firewall from one of the mounting bolts just for insurance.
Total time for the change over was about 1 hour.(I`m slow and fumble fingered).
Leo


Mr. Woodbutcher, I did not know or deduce that it was that simple. But then again I'm a little slow sometimes. I swapped a 300 from an 84 Bronco into a 79 F150 chassis that came with a 351M. I got a wrecking yard engine harness, re-manned distributor and new coil and control box to match the distributor. That was all plug and play with the truck harness, but ALL the wiring, computer, vacucuum lines, etc from the 84 went away. Other than the industrial grey color on the engine, the engine bay looks as simple and clean as on an original 75-76 F150-250 which had ford blue engine color. If I had been able to figure out the way you did it I probably could have saved some dough. Oh well, I'm not always "lucky".

_________________
1 "76" F150 RC, LB, 2WD, 300, NP435, 9" open 3.00, special order 2-76/Delivered 4-76. Still "new".

1 "73-79" F150 RC/SS/SB/4WD, "84"-300, T18, NP205, 9" open 3.50, Dana 44 3.50 open, Offy DP, Holley 470, EFI + single 2.5" exhaust. Gathered from 15+ donor/parts trucks. "Fubar". Runs good, safe, still needs details/project continues.


Thu Apr 14, 2011 10:20 am
Profile
VIP Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:14 pm
Posts: 2654
Location: LaFollette Tn.
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
:) Hi Luckyman.You know how it goes.Some days you`re windshield.Others,you`re the BUG.
BTDT.
Leo

_________________
"People never lie so much as after a hunt,during a war,or before an election".
Otto von Bismarck


Thu Apr 14, 2011 5:15 pm
Profile
Registered User

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:40 pm
Posts: 9
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
Alright guys I have another question. I went this morning and got a engine harness off a 83 f150 with dsII. I saw where some people have said keep the stock coil ( TFI unit) do I just cut and splice the TFI plug on the harness or do I have to do something else??


Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:47 pm
Profile
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 5:46 pm
Posts: 5969
Location: Flagstaff, Az. 86005 near the old Route 66
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
Quote:
do I just cut and splice the TFI plug on the harness or do I have to do something else??


Most DSII change over's I have done using all the stock DSII parts, if you want kind of a stock look or depending on how much you will be moding yours it may be all that you need. Many also use the GM HEI mod to control the DSII and use the TFI coil with it. Check the “Go Fast” link above for how to do that I don't see any reason why you couldn’t use the TFI coil along with the Ford control box. So yes a cut and a splice or just add some plug in type connectors to the coil harness than you could try it with both. I have a MSD TFI coil that am planing on experimenting with on my current project. Good luck

_________________
A bad day Drag Racing is still better than a good day at work!

My fleet of Sixes: 1954 Customline 223 3 speed with O/D, 1963 Fairlane project drag car with BB6, 1977 Maverick 250 with C4, 1994 F-150 a 300 with 5 speed.


Sat Apr 16, 2011 3:06 pm
Profile
Registered User

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:40 pm
Posts: 9
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
The truck in no way remain stock lol. It's lifted now. I just don't like the can style coil and I read somewhere that the TFI coil is good to have. Thanks again for all the input


Sat Apr 16, 2011 6:17 pm
Profile
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 5:46 pm
Posts: 5969
Location: Flagstaff, Az. 86005 near the old Route 66
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
:thumbup:

_________________
A bad day Drag Racing is still better than a good day at work!

My fleet of Sixes: 1954 Customline 223 3 speed with O/D, 1963 Fairlane project drag car with BB6, 1977 Maverick 250 with C4, 1994 F-150 a 300 with 5 speed.


Sat Apr 16, 2011 7:06 pm
Profile
Registered User

Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 5:07 pm
Posts: 189
Location: central oklahoma
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
when we switched mine over (about 4 or 5 weeks ago), my buddy was sure that the TFI coil would work. i told him i didn't think so, because i had read that you need the gm module to control the fire. we attempted to start the truck, and it did not run. he checked and said, "fire going into the coil." i said, "got fire coming out of the coil?" he checked, and "NO."

i said, lemme grab an old coil, i've got a few sitting on the shelf. changed the coil, turned the key, and BOOM. ran like a top!

i can't tell you why, because i'm not an electrical genius. i love people who are. i only know what worked for me.


Mon Apr 18, 2011 12:54 pm
Profile
Registered User

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:40 pm
Posts: 9
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
Alright thank you very much chico71. I have a question for you though. Did you have to do any wiring to the harness you installed?? Add or remove?? I will be installing mine later this week and would like to know. Thanks


Mon Apr 18, 2011 11:57 pm
Profile
Registered User

Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 5:07 pm
Posts: 189
Location: central oklahoma
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
i had to do some minor wiring. first, find someone who knows more than you if you are not fully confident (like me). next, you must have two hot wires. one will run from the switch, the other to the coil. there is a small plug coming from the module with two prongs; it should have the hot lead to the switch. there is also a big plug coming from the module; it should feed the distributor and coil. we had to splice in one wire to make it work, that was it.

we used an oil field ignition coil, which is much hotter than an old breaker points coil. however, any old style coil should work. like these guys say, read up on the www.gofastforless.com website, and print off the pages to show to whoever is going to help you.

the main thing to remember is, find the hot wire from the switch, and the hot wire to the coil/distributor. that is all it takes to make the DSII work. it doesn't matter if they are connected with fancy factory plug-ins or old fashioned butt connectors. we used butt connectors and solder, covered w/ shrink wrap (once we KNEW it would work).


Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:41 pm
Profile
Registered User

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:40 pm
Posts: 9
Post Re: 86 300 4 barrel carb??
Thank you guys for all your help. I installed all the duraspark ignition this morning and it is running better than ever. And the entire install was plug and play. No extra wiring and every thing works like factory. Starts good runs good pulls good. Its great. Thank you again. You all have been a life saver for me.


Wed Apr 20, 2011 2:08 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forum/DivisionCore.