Marine Engine Recommendations For 300 CI Ford Straight Six

The Big Block of inline Ford sixes

Moderator: Mod Squad

Marine Engine Recommendations For 300 CI Ford Straight Six

Postby tbarr » Thu Dec 12, 2002 7:05 pm

I am posting this request on a number of Ford sites. Excuse it if you have seen it before.
Tom Barr

Subject: Marine Engine Recommendations For 300 CI Ford Straight Six

I am new here. You are a very knowledgeable bunch and I am a complete novice, so I am going to ask the group’s suggestions as to what I should do to a 300 cubic inch straight six Ford that will be used to power a 34 foot wooden Jonesport (Maine) lobster boat ( I haven’t a clue as to the weight). Engine is mounted up front, under a cuddy cabin. This is a work boat, not a racer, and what I am trying to do is get the cruise speed up from around 12 knots to around 16 knots (maximum speed is not important).

To do this, I need to maximize the Torque/HP in the 2500-3500 RPM range, and I don’t much care what happens at slower and faster RPM’s, nor do I need to have a red-line much beyond 4500 RPM. In this 2500-3500 RPM range, I would like to get as close to 250 HP as possible (with as flat Torque/HP curves as possible), consistent, however, with the following requirements for the engine:

(1). Operate very comfortably on 89 octane.
(2). Single 2 or 4 bbl marine carb (no multiple carbs and no fuel injection).
(3). Nothing radical (no excessive compression ratio, turbos, maximum over-bores, stroker kits, radical head-work, etc.).
(4). Simple and absolutely reliable (I will be going off-shore).
(5). Long engine life (no high-stressed components).
(6). Easy starting and smooth running (no radical cams), with good throttle response.
(7). Quiet (see single pipe dry exhaust system/muffler requirements below).
(8). Reasonable gas consumption.
(9.) Reasonable costs.