Giving my 200 a boost...Where to start???

Hi Folks, I'm new to FordSix and to my, well, Ford Inline Six... Just purchased a 66 Mustang with the 200ci and was wondering where to start with some performance enhancements. Not really looking for answers here as much as resources and places to look, books etc. I love the idea of 3 single carbs, I also remember my Triumph TR-6 having twin Strombergs, not sure if that is possible or even desirable. I have seen several things done, but not sure where to start the research. Any resource tips would be awesome. Thanks

Hi, get the Ford Falcon Handbook, and start digging through the older posts. There is a lot to soak up so you can come up with a performance plan. One of my posts you can find is "Triple intake for Ford Six" Good luck

U might want to go to vintage inlines. com and click on the Classic Inlines tech pages there. Lots of useful info on these and ford6s from around the world.
He can get U the "Handbook" with a click or 2 as well.
Both have good info on the carb/ingition 'feedback system' if that's what U have currently - gotta learn the basicis/what U have now B4 goin the next step.

For the boosted F6 see our forum for that right here! Click on the "Board Index" above and to the left to ride over there, scroll down to that forum...

Howdy Jackson:

And welcome to the FORUM. Yes, it is that good. In addition to the previous posts I'd recommend a Shop Manual for your vehicle. They run about $50 but if you're planning on any DIY the shop manual will explain a lot. Also, a little more info about you. Are you doing the work yourself or farming it out? Have you thought about a budget? Will these upgrades be a slam- all in, right now, or a process where each modification will build toward an end, some where in the future?

IF you're looking for some quick and relatively easy improvements, bump your initial timing setting by 5 degrees over the stock setting. It will cost nothing but will require a timing light.