Engine Assembly Tool Recommendations

Rmoore45

Didn't see a specific area to ask questions about tools so this'll have to do.

Looking for recommendations regarding a micrometer and dial bore gauge for measuring main and rod bearing clearances. As well as any other precision tools that I'll need to assemble an engine. Looking for high quality tools, they will be an investment for future projects so price isn't a big factor.

Tools I currently have
  • Basic Hand Tools
  • Torque Wrenches
  • 0-6" Digital Caliper
  • Cam Bearing Removal & Installation Tool
  • Dial Indicator with magnetic stand (bought for doing differential rebuilds)

Been looking at Starrett tools but I'm no expert on the subject and there are many different options out there.

Thanks

Lisle 18000 is a dependable cam-bearing installer. I believe it is still made here. There look to be copies of it out there for about half of what it cost. Even Blue Point used it in their line of tooling.
Look around for a good magnetic base stand. I have bought some that won't even stick half as good as chewing gum. Finally, just grabbed a Starrett. A good mic should have it's own case or box. Helios is very nice for measuring. CDI Torque is good so are many others, They were a manufacturer for Snap-on and I believe Proto also. These should have their own case as well

The most important tools are the ones nobody makes. At best, a generic tool is a compromise. To that end I have made several tools specifically for our six cylinder engines. Here's pix of a few. Feel free to ask about the function that the pic does not adequately describe -

Attachments

• camtool04.jpg
    camtool04.jpg
    108.5 KB · Views: 18
  • chamber template 01.JPG
    chamber template 01.JPG
    2.2 MB · Views: 16
  • clnr02.jpg
    clnr02.jpg
    206.2 KB · Views: 15
  • crank dummy01.jpg
    crank dummy01.jpg
    557.7 KB · Views: 15
  • crank dummy03.jpg
    crank dummy03.jpg
    567.4 KB · Views: 17
  • crankpolishr01_1.jpg