Help! I need Specs for my 200

A

Anonymous

I have 66 mustang that I am rebuilding and I need some specs. I need :shock: to know the torque needed for my main bearing bolts, my cylinder head bolts, oils pan bolts, intake and exhaust bolts. The specifications for my crankshaft main journal out-of-round, my crankshaft alignment specs. My rod journal specs and out of round specs, my main bearing bore specs, my rod bore specs and any oil pump specs would be great. I can't find these any where and have run out of places to look any help would be great. I am new at this but have to find the information. Try to forgive my bookish questions for the sake of my car, it needs its engine back.

Well, your head bolts will go in three stages. Something like 45, 60, 75. Allow 10-20 minutes between each setting, and oil or moly grease the threads and underside of the heads.

Mains are 70, sump (oil pan) 10, valve cover 10, exhaust 18(anti-sieze!), carb to manifold 18. All these are oiled first except the anti-sieze - that is plenty. Clean the threads for the head bolts with a 7/16 UNC bottoming tap - you'll be surprised how much crud comes out. And don't re-use any suspect looking bolts. I had two fail on Saturday with a lucky escape.

A Mustang manual (like the Ford factory one) ought to have six cylinder info inside.

RB or someone else will likely chip in with bore specs.

Cheers, Adam.

Cowgirl66":gjgp70e0 said: