All Small Six How to replace oil pan gasket

This relates to all small sixes

shreqshack

I need your help. I am replacing my oil pan gasket and valve cover gasket. I am a novice and have never done this before. I have been watching youtube videos and reading forums but everyone seems to suggest different things.

I am using the felpro cork gaskets that I purchased from NAPA (Part #: FPG OS12701C)
1628699389126.png
The gasket comes in two long pieces and 2 half circle pieces.

My plan is to use a light coat of ultra black RTV on the entire surface on surface of the engine to place the long strips on the bottom of the engine. Next I plan to put on the half circle pieces. THIS IS WHERE I AM STUCK....Do I use a thin coat of ultra black RTV to install the half pieces? What do I do there?

Here is a youtube video I found....I wondered if this guy was doing it right?

My other question is whether I should replace the oil pump while I have the cover off? I haven't had the car running long enough to know whether it needs a new pump. It is likely the original 1965 pump - as the car sat in a garage for 25 years...and all the other parts are still original factory parts. I am shorter on cash but would rather not have to take the cover off again to replace it.

Thanks everyone!

Hi, removing the oil pan and valve cover is a really cool experience. I removed my oil pan and valve cover last summer and I was super nervous too.
My biggest suggestion is to take your time and go slowly to enjoy what you’re doing. It is really not that hard of a task once you’re doing it.