All Big Six Pedestal rocker build. Is it a good idea?

Relates to all big sixes

Motorboy

Supporter 2019
Hi all! Today I had a surprise. I almost have the transmission buttoned up, And the weather was nice for a change here in PA, so I decided to wash off the engine since that’s next on my list. When I removed the valve cover I was surprised to see pedestal rockers. I assumed the engine was original (80 f250). I couldn’t get a casting number on the head (Maybe I’ll be able to decipher it once it’s off) but I’d bet it’s an efi head.

Anyway this changes my plan a bit. My original build was based on Keystoner16 https://fordsix.com/threads/300-rebuild.80112/ and similar to Macguyver’s https://fordsix.com/threads/ole-blu...4x4-300-6-3-od-trans.81388/page-5#post-640126 builds. Larger valves, rolling rockers, mild cam. I’m assuming this head has the shorter 4.75 valves.

I like the idea of using the scorpion rockers, but they have a much higher ratio. This is my first time building a pushrod engine so I’m green with the rocker arm geometry thing. Would this be a good idea, or should I get my head machined for studs and go with the Harland Sharps?

Attachments

• 0225211602b_HDR.jpg
    0225211602b_HDR.jpg
    8.1 MB · Views: 8
  • 0225211658_HDR.jpg
    0225211658_HDR.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 9

pmuller9

5K+
VIP
Supporter 2018
Supporter 2021
It can also be the 1985 to 1986 carb head.
We need a picture of the exhaust manifold side of the head.

Yes it will have the shorter 4.75" valves.
If you convert this head to stud mount roller rockers you will also need pushrod guide plates.

Roller rockers resized.JPG

If you go to the longer valves you can use the Scorpion roller rockers for the moderate cam profiles.

Last edited:

Motorboy

Supporter 2019
It can also be the 1985 to 1986 carb head.
We need a picture of the exhaust manifold side of the head.

Yes it will have the shorter 4.75" valves.