All Big Six Timing and vacuum questions.

Relates to all big sixes

fox81

Hey All,
Im trying to tune my new yfa carb i got from Mikes. Im new to this so i need some help.

I am trying to get a ported vacuum reading when giving it some throttle but my gauge isnt reading anything. I am tapping into the port at the bottom of the yfa. Is this the correct spot? This is where my vacuum advance has been plugged in. Now im thinking it wasn't working at all.

I don't see any other port to use. Maybe the hot air auto choke port? I had it plugged but took thw plug out to see if it would run better. I was thinking of getting a breather filter for it.

Any Help would be appreciated.20211023_122730.jpg20211023_122527.jpg20211023_122537.jpg

bubba22349

Top Poster
Staff member
VIP
Supporter 2021
Supporter 2019
REDLINE 10K
Yes the lower vacuum tap at the carb base is the right one to use for ported distributor vacuum advance. I see you are not using a stock type air cleaner. The upper tap on the side of carb is supposed to hooked up to the base of the air cleaner so that it can drawn filtered air for the (this tap is a controlled vacuum leak to draw hot air from the exhaust manifold) through the chokes hot air stove pipe would looks like you don't have hooked up either. Good luck

fox81

Thanks Bubba!

I have an electric choke so im not sure if i should just plug the hot air intake. I did have it plugged but i didnt seem to make a difference.

Im trying to figure out why i have no vacuum at the port for vac advance at the base of the carb while throttling. The truck seems to be running ok but im sure this is needed.

bubba22349

Top Poster
Staff member
VIP
Supporter 2021
Supporter 2019
REDLINE 10K