turbo '96 4.9l

kerstinglane

hey guys, i have a 1996 short bed single cab f150 with the 4.9 inline six and i want to turbo it, and had some questions. i am not new to turbos, just new to turbos on fords.
1. what kind of boost can i run and the stock computer still read?
2. what kind of boost can this motor handle for extened periods of time?
3. i am new to megasquirts (i dont understand them well enough to want to instal one) and do not have the resourses to program a chip, so who do you suggest that i send my computer to, to have it reflashed, or is there a on the fly tuner (like the APEXER for the civics) that i could run?
4. what injectors do you suggest i run and for how much boost will they handle?
5. should i run a fuel pressure regulator or should i try to get that programed into the computer?
thanks

I would be interested in the same answer. I am currently on page 16 out of 66 on this site Reading each post that seems to pertain to the build I plan on. Thanks in advance.

I would be interested in the same answer. I am currently on page 16 out of 66 on this site Reading each post that seems to pertain to the build I plan on. Thanks in advance.
Tell us more about your build plans.

Tell us more about your build plans.
Hey Pal
I will give a short rundown with a caveat, I do not have all my facts inline as far as exactly what I want. I planned on starting a thread once I have all the info that is basic knowledge on this site.
I think I made it to page 33 last night of this website.
Truck 96 single cab ,long bed ,4x4 ,300, 4 speed 211k on the clock just bought for $500. I bought this truck to build something cool. Mostly DD but not my primary truck.

Goals ish….
300 hp
About 10 lbs of boost seems reasonable from what I have read without extreme build
Reliable power minimal tinkering.

Questions I have as of now
Reliability for daily driving 40-80 miles a day.