62 Ranchero engine racket

sparkyj

Hi, i'm a newbie here at fordsix. Great site!
We have a 62 Ranchero that has been sitting in the back yard since 2002. We bought it in not running condition. It started briefly at the time and I did manage to rebuild the carb and drive it around the block once. It sounded like a bucket of bolts then. Well, I've recently decided to try and get it running (and stopping). Got it started. I remember I had a tough time getting the starter to engage properly, last time thus I gave up. the ford fairies must have fixed it between 2002 and now because it starts great now!

It has a 5 freeze plug straight 6 with casting number (i think) that makes it a 66. It has an automatic High starter position trans with a nice hacksawed T shifter coming through the floor,. Apparently this was someone's previous fix for the column shift lever breaking. Oh brother.

Now for the RACKET part:
The trans smokes when running. And let me tell you, it smells wonderful :) At some point I think I put some transX in there and it seems to have subsided a bit. Also there is a fair amount of bluish white exhaust smoke, like I have just released an absynthe genie from the bottle.. And the motor is loud, almost like a sloppy crank or a wirring chain sound (main bearings? timing chain? Rod bearings? flexplate) Sounds kind of deep in the motor. But at least the floor is rusted out. HONEY, WHY DID WE BUY THIS AGAIN?
But it looks so good, waiting for me, up on blocks like ol yeller, wagging its bent antenna in the yard, every morning when I eat breakfast.

I remember trying to level out a pitted exhaust manifold surface a while back. I think that is tight now.

As far as the bucket of bolts sound of the engine, what in all of your experience tells me what I should look for first (besides a toyota corolla) prior to yanking the whole motor and trans out?