HELP!......Help Selecting a cam

JW1965

I am new to this swort of deal, and I read through the "select a cam" article. I know I can't have the best of both worlds as far as smoothness and power combined.

I have a 1967 200ci that is bored .30 over (Previous owner did that). It will have the 1980 head that has .70 milled off of stock. I have a holley dual barrel 350cfm (not using the adapter plate, but the "log" opening has been opened wider). It will also have electronic ignition and a v8 style 3-speed manual and 8 inch rear end. Dual outlet headers, too.........

So my question is this: what would be a good cam for a summer time/ weekend driver. Something that I could drive in light traffic and take to the drive-in without it dying on me and looking like a fool?....haha

I want something that will cook when I want it to, but still be able to take it to the city......

With what you've given us so far, I'd go with one of Mike's dual pattern cams 264/274. It's a real nice street cam with a little extra on the exhaust side where our engines need it the most. Depending on your driving style 108* if like a bit of lope to your cam or 110* to 112* if you plan on a lot of highway driving. http://www.classicinlines.com/products.asp?cat=115

Are you using a 1 barrel adapter or are you going with a direct mount 2v modified head? What's your compression ratio going to be?

jahearne":3vstppa3 said:
With what you've given us so far, I'd go with one of Mike's dual pattern cams 264/274. It's a real nice street cam with a little extra on the exhaust side where our engines need it the most. Depending on your driving style 108* if like a bit of lope to your cam or 110* to 112* if you plan on a lot of highway driving. http://www.classicinlines.com/products.asp?cat=115

Are you using a 1 barrel adapter or are you going with a direct mount 2v modified head? What's your compression ratio going to be?

8) +1 in 110 lobe centers.