Camshaft Degree Confirmation

MPGmustang

1K+
VIP
okay so I got my degree kit... finally can start getting the engine back together.
but before I do I figured I would degree the camshaft just in case... better be safe than sorry...

I decided to use the peak lift method as it was easier to understand...

I found peak lift, set the indicator to 0, backed up to .100 then came back to peak lift to determine it's accurate.
then backed up .150 and went forward (normal engine rotational direction) and came to .050 before peak lift. degree read 53*
then went forward past peak lift and to .050 after peak lift, the degree read 143*

53+143=196
196/2= 88*????

IIRC (if i read correctly) it should be closer to my 110* lobe separation, 88* is what I got for Peak intak lift, did I do something I should not have? please help! am I suppose to repeat for exhaust?

The engine shop said they degree'd it 4* advance... I think I'm going to have to go in and change the key on the camshaft. this is not going to be a fun process...

my cam is Clay Smith Camshaft, 264 int 274 exh, 110* lobe separation, .450 lift,

any insight that I can do to determine my findings are correct would be very aprreciated...

Thanks guy's you're the best

A google search on this:
Google":2lu42eo6 said:
A cam ground with a 108 lobe separation and advanced 4 degrees will have a intake centerline of 104 and exhaust centerline of 112. ...
So my intake center line is just flat out off, 88* is a very poor excuse... I have tripple checked my findings, and I sure that I have the right degree and numbers. but did I do it right is the real question...

As I have ran this engine for 8 months, I'm cautious (and hope) that I might be wrong.