Mini starter for a 66

65-coupe

Does anybody know if there is a mini starter to fit my 66 with a T5. I have the two bolt bell with a 136 flywheel.

Thanks Brian

I know that the FE motor starters work (such as the 352 or the 390), but I think that might only be with the two bolt starter.

2 bolts are hard to find. I had a buddy at our machine shop weld extra material onto my 3 bolt starter collar and drilled it to match my 2 bolt bell pattern. Worked really well, but would have preferred not needing to.

hello sir....
i got an powermaster 9103,powermax 160 ft-lb SB Ford.
but you have to made an adapter,most starters are 3 bolt,
connected.

greetzz,,JD.

we put a hitachi mini starter on the racecar. it was a blessing, as it is adjustable. a series of holes allows you to rotate the starter body for maximum clearance. combined with a blanket has worked perfectly. it's for an FE, and i picked it up in charlotte, at the autofair, for $100.

bill

I tried an FE starter on a 200-I6 and it would not fit. Will the recommended starters fit the 200 with a T5?

Rick

Hey Rick,
How are things on the East side of the burbs? Isn't this California Summer weather great ;)

Here's where I think the confusion on the mini-starter lies. The FE 3-bolt starter will swap with a 200 3-bolt (typically automatics of the C4 variety IIRC). Also, AFAIK that same FE 3-bolt starter will work with early 3-bolt manual tranny bells (65& earlier...small bells for the 8.5" flywheel). So that's where folks get the FE mini-starter swapping to the 200 (3-bolt variety)...unfortunately I don't know the answer for the 2 bolt mini.

Based on the eBay's listing, I'd say 'yes it will' and 'no it won't' work. He's listed its application on 3.3l's anywhere from ~'63 to '74....but this part is the real kicker (from the listing)...

"Replaces the 3 bolt FE 360,390,427 and 428 starter all with automatic or manual transmissions.

This is a 2 bolt starter with BOTH BOLT HOLES ARE UNTHREADED."