DIY, DSII recurve kit???

MPGmustang

1K+
VIP
okay, I know how to swap springs and weights, and adjust the vacuum canister...

a few questions about the DSII, I'm new to DSII and dont' know much about it.

is there an adjustable vacuum canister?
what's best for economy? ported vacuum or manifold vacuum? (probably ported from a 350cfm carb?)
which spring/weight kit can I get that will work?? and which springs?

if anyone knows about the DSII and it's best curve for our 200's let me know thanks!!

this is going in the mustang I have for sale.

Yes there are different canisters that are adjustable , they will have a hex shape ( Flats ) on them , I recommend Ported Vacuum for all Vac Advances , lots of opinions , BUT I been re-curving for 25+ years and have NEVER used Manifold as a source , whats the best curve , they are all different , no one fits all deal ( sorry ) the Mrg 925D is a spring kit I use ( among others )

I also have a sun distributor machine & have been recurving distributors for 45 years & depending whether to use ported or manifold vacuum depends on many engine componets mostly camshaft.
I use manifold vacuum if you get a higher idle speed & smoother idle mostly on engines with more camshaft duration.
Sometimes i only use a modified vacuum chamber for small amount of vacuum advance.
One can also adjust the range of vacuum with a hex wrench.
Normally an engine with a stock camshaft will work better with ported vacuum.
The canisters i usually use are a V-397 or a V-398. You can do a cross reference for those #'s for different manufacturers.
On certain engines i do not use any vacuum advance.
Every engine combination is different.
I you purchase a reman distributor from a parts house it defenitely needs to be re-curved. Also need to get a decent gear installed which is at least parkerized or better yet purchase one of my custom nitrided & parkerized gears.
Stock gears are 27 in hardness where mine are 40+ hardness on the rockwell C scale.