200 Overheated

schaferstephen

Got a new 3 row aluminum earlier this year after my original radiator bit the dust. Noticed it seemed to run hotter after installing this bad boy, but it is also getting hotter out here in southern Louisiana. Well today, I overheated BAD on the way home. Heat gauge was off the charts. I am not sure if somehow this radiator is of inferior quality, or if maybe I just need to get an electric puller fan on it. It is about 1/2" thicker than the original, maybe that is hindering airflow with my flexfan? Thoughts?

Possibly, but I have been running this new radiator for several months now. Matter of fact I just took a 300 mile road trip the other day, and it did fine on the highway... Although of course there is more airflow at 60+ mph.

But it didn't boil over did it?
What thermostat are you running?
What temp did the guage read?
Thermostats can get stuck.
You could pull that off and drop it in some hot water to see it's functioning ok.

It did. I didn't notice until I got to the house, but it WAS steaming and I had lost a good bit of fluid.
As far as temperature, I don't know - I just have the dummy gauge that goes from C to H, and I don't have a thermo.
The thermometer is the stock one - 182?
I will check to see if it is sticking.

You might run it until the water gets to running temp with the radiator cap off. You can observe if the water in the radiator is flowing from the hose. If it is not flowing, the impeller on the water pump might be slipping. Or you might have a big bubble passing through the water jacket and the pump can't get any pull. Typically, I fill the radiator and watch the water. At some point there is usually a big bubble and the water level sinks below the blades of the radiator. I top it off with my favored fluid, water, AF or 50/50. If the bubble moves through after you close the radiator cap, you get no movement of water.