RPM with no tach?

Nick1966

I am not a mechanic.
1966 Ford Mustang, I6, 200ci, Automatic

I have been trying to get a reading on my RPM's so I can adjust my carb but can't seem to get a reading. I am using this meter:

http://www.autozone.com/autozone/access ... 31988_0_0_

I understand I am supposed to hook the positive terminal of the meter to the negative terminal of the coil and the negative terminal of the meter to ground. I tried this and can't get a stable reading. The meter will jump around and eventually zero out.

Any clue as to what I would be doing wrong here?

Is there another way to see my RPM?

Thanks as always!

Newbie Nick

Hmm. My dwell meter is entirely analog and connects the same way. I'd posit that you don't have the meter dial on the correct setting.

Just to verify, the black lead should go to COM and the red lead to the + plug on the meter. Red lead to coil negative, black lead to ground, meter on 6cyl RPM, not Dwell.

Are you running points or electronic ignition?

Ok, so positive lead to positive on coil, make sure meter is set to 6cy, ground lead to ground. Am I missing something?

Nick1966":2o2ge4di said:
Ok, so positive lead to positive on coil, make sure meter is set to 6cy, ground lead to ground. Am I missing something?