Removing oil pan on 3rd generation ('68) Falcon

1968 Falcon

Howdy, I'm going to be replacing the oil pump and pickup tube soon on the 200 in my 1968 Falcon. Will I have to lift the engine or do anything special to remove the oil pan? The car is my DD and I'd rather not unbolt the pan to realize I can't clear it between the crossmember and the pickup screen, and then have to take the extra time to figure out a way to lift the engine up.

Also, is there anything special I should be aware of when replacing the pump and pickup tube? I've never done any work inside of the engine before.

since the cross member on that car is integral, it makes things tougher. you can lift the engine up with a hoist to get enough clearance to remove the oil pump pick up tube so you can remove the oil pan without pulling the motor entirely.

you may also have to remove the oil pump as well to get the pan out.

when putting things back together, first glue the pan gasket to the pan, or use the ARP oil pan stud kit to help hold the gasket to the engine.

the hard part is going to be installing the oil pump if you have to remove it before pulling the oil pan. and the hardest part of that is reinstalling the oil pump drive shaft. a little grease will hold the shaft in place if needed.

If you have to remove the pump to clear the pan do your self a favor and remove the distributor and pump shaft too. Check the bearings while the pan is off. If you see copper they're done. low oil pressure indicates worn bearings more often than a bad oil pump. When the new pump is in and the pan on oil full prime the oil system using a 5/16 socket on the oil pump shaft and a drill or speed handle turn clockwise til you get oil pressure.
If you need help with any of these ask. That's what we're here for. Good luck.