Click Here -> Please Consider Making a PayPal Contribution to the FordSix Forum!
2018 Contributors:
StarDiero75, curts56, DannyG, B RON CO, wsa111, Captainslow42, falconcritter
Econoline, THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER, 95FordFleetside, turbo6, Max_Effort, WorldChampGramp
cr_bobcat, C.S.Designs, pmuller9, gus91326, rwbrooks50, rocklord, drag-200stang, Big64my79Effie, CNC-Dude, gb500

2019 Contributors:
NJwpod, 1strodeo, mightynorseman, maxtrux, 6d7coupe, broncr, Phase3, 68Flareside240, bmbm40,
mustang6, WorldChampGramp, justintendo, BigBlue94, ags290, motorsickle1130, Rooster, ousooner919, ethanperry

Unknown->> M.Ketterer, T.Smith, J.Myers, P.McIntire - Please PM me (1966Mustang) and lemme know who you are!

Autolite 1100, No Vacuum

Moderator: Mod Squad

User avatar
Sprint1966
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 9:44 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Autolite 1100, No Vacuum

Post #1 by Sprint1966 » Wed May 20, 2015 10:00 am

I have an autolite 1100 on a 1966 200 cubic inch I6 that is not putting any vacuum out to the distributor. Ive tried to rebuild it but it may not be right. Vacuum on the manifold line is at 18, idle is at 600-650 rpms, timing is stock 12 BTDC. This is the carb with the spark control valve. Any ideas would be great
1966 Ford Mustang Coupe Sprint 200 Edition - 3 years ongoing restoration

User avatar
ludwig
VIP Member
Posts: 3262
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 12:11 am
Location: Las Vegas, baby!!

Re: Autolite 1100, No Vacuum

Post #2 by ludwig » Wed May 20, 2015 1:02 pm

Are you sure it's not putting out to the distributor? Maybe the diaphragm on the distributor is not working.

You can check the hose to the distributor at the diaphragm. Get a new, clean piece of hose and plug it in at the bung below the carb or where every you are taking the vacuum. Touch it to your your tongue while the engine is running. Make the hose long enough so you don't have to lean over the engine. Just because. If you find this too gross, you can use your vacuum gauge instead.

If this has vac, turn the engine off. Then plug the (new, clean) hose to the diaphragm and suck. Watch the rotor and see if it moves from this suction. If not, it's there. However, if both are working, it's probably the hose. R n' r.

Keep the extra hose with your tools. You can use it to test other stuff. I also used it to blow stuff out of hard to reach crevices where the air compressor hose was too big or too powerful or not close byl. And you have extra hose.
Image

Livin' the dream. Dad n' daughter.

User avatar
bubba22349
Global Moderator
Posts: 9053
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:46 pm
Location: Flagstaff, Az. 86005 near the old Route 66

Re: Autolite 1100, No Vacuum

Post #3 by bubba22349 » Wed May 20, 2015 1:47 pm

:hmmm: Have you read the excellent article yet on how the LOD system functions? It maybe of some help in your search for answers. Good luck :nod:

http://classicinlines.com/Loadomatic.asp
A bad day Drag Racing is still better than a good day at work!

I am still hunting for a project car to build but with my current low budget it's not looking so good. My Ex- Fleet of Sixes these are all long gone! :bang: 1954 Customline 223 3 speed with O/D, 1963 Fairlane project drag car with BB6, 1977 Maverick 250 with C4, 1994 F-150 a 300 with 5 speed.

User avatar
Sprint1966
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 9:44 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Autolite 1100, No Vacuum

Post #4 by Sprint1966 » Wed May 20, 2015 1:53 pm

ludwig wrote:Are you sure it's not putting out to the distributor? Maybe the diaphragm on the distributor is not working.

You can check the hose to the distributor at the diaphragm. Get a new, clean piece of hose and plug it in at the bung below the carb or where every you are taking the vacuum. Touch it to your your tongue while the engine is running. Make the hose long enough so you don't have to lean over the engine. Just because. If you find this too gross, you can use your vacuum gauge instead.

If this has vac, turn the engine off. Then plug the (new, clean) hose to the diaphragm and suck. Watch the rotor and see if it moves from this suction. If not, it's there. However, if both are working, it's probably the hose. R n' r.

Keep the extra hose with your tools. You can use it to test other stuff. I also used it to blow stuff out of hard to reach crevices where the air compressor hose was too big or too powerful or not close byl. And you have extra hose.


I've tried reading from both ends of the line with my finger and my gauge. I can't feel it and it doesn't read on either end. Right now I feel like there's something out of place in the carb
bubba22349 wrote::hmmm: Have you read the excellent article yet on how the LOD system functions? It maybe of some help in your search for answers. Good luck :nod:

http://classicinlines.com/Loadomatic.asp


I have seen that article, it's great. It's actually the first thing I consulted. I tried replacing the spark control valve to see if that would get me anywhere but that didn't seem to work.

Thanks guys!
1966 Ford Mustang Coupe Sprint 200 Edition - 3 years ongoing restoration

User avatar
wsa111
FSP Moderator
Posts: 3249
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 5:28 pm
Location: South Carolina
Contact:

Re: Autolite 1100, No Vacuum

Post #5 by wsa111 » Wed May 20, 2015 5:04 pm

Check your carb. to manifold gasket for cut out slots at 4? spots.
This allows vacuum to get to the vacuum hole at the base of the carb.
67 mustang,C-4, with mod. 80 hd, custom 500 cfm carb with annular boosters, hooker headers, dual exh.-X pipe, flowmaster mufflers, DSII dist. MSD-6al & MSD-Blaster 8252 Coil. Engine 205" .030" over with offset ground crank & 1.65 roller rockers. 9.5 comp., Isky 262 cam.
2003 Ford Lightning daily driver. Recurving Distributors. billythedistributorman@live.com
Image

User avatar
ludwig
VIP Member
Posts: 3262
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 12:11 am
Location: Las Vegas, baby!!

Re: Autolite 1100, No Vacuum

Post #6 by ludwig » Wed May 20, 2015 5:42 pm

BILL is the MAN!

You have those little tunnel ports on the bottom too and one or the other might be plugged with dirt or gasket seal or some such.
Image

Livin' the dream. Dad n' daughter.

User avatar
Sprint1966
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 9:44 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Autolite 1100, No Vacuum

Post #7 by Sprint1966 » Wed May 20, 2015 6:19 pm

Here's what I've got. First, the rotor does advance on the distributor if I create vacuum. Second, air flows freely through the line when blown. Third, removing the vacuum line at the carb and the spark control valve don't create any changes when running. I checked the surface and both the carb and spacer seem clean of any obstructions. I am using a gasket with 4 holes so that is right as well. All of the cylinders are working.

Thanks guys!
1966 Ford Mustang Coupe Sprint 200 Edition - 3 years ongoing restoration

User avatar
wsa111
FSP Moderator
Posts: 3249
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 5:28 pm
Location: South Carolina
Contact:

Re: Autolite 1100, No Vacuum

Post #8 by wsa111 » Fri May 22, 2015 7:36 pm

Sounds like a check ball is in the wrong port???
67 mustang,C-4, with mod. 80 hd, custom 500 cfm carb with annular boosters, hooker headers, dual exh.-X pipe, flowmaster mufflers, DSII dist. MSD-6al & MSD-Blaster 8252 Coil. Engine 205" .030" over with offset ground crank & 1.65 roller rockers. 9.5 comp., Isky 262 cam.
2003 Ford Lightning daily driver. Recurving Distributors. billythedistributorman@live.com
Image

User avatar
Sprint1966
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 9:44 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Autolite 1100, No Vacuum

Post #9 by Sprint1966 » Sat May 23, 2015 10:20 pm

Finally got it, wasn't a check ball but looked like some carbon build up. Exhaust was leaking and it was most likely picking it up. Just trying to get the idle squared away now. Thank you guys!
1966 Ford Mustang Coupe Sprint 200 Edition - 3 years ongoing restoration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests