Father Son 67

mojo67

Hi!
We are new to the mustang world as well as forum's. We recently purchased a 1967 IL6 3 spd. coupe. My son loves mustang's and we got him a project car for Christmas (he is 16). Of course it has drum brakes on all 4 wheels and 4 lug steel rims. He doesn't like any of the 4 lug rims so we want to change it to 5 lug and disc brakes and drum on the rear. I'm new to the restoring world as well. From what we have been reading the 67 6 cyl. and V8 front wheel spindles are the same from the factory, 4 or 5 lug so converting fronts to disc looks like just deciding on the right package to purchase.
The rear is where my questions are for the most part.
What is the best way that's not going to cost his entire savings?
We plan on keeping the 6 cyl for quite sometime until he can afford to put a V8 in it and change the rear.
Wheel adapters are probably the cheapest way but are they safe?
If I was to change the rear. What makes and years of Ford cars would fit our 67 Coupe?
We've also heard a good machine shop can take our existing 6 cyl axles and convert them from 4 to 5 lug?

We look forward to any advice given from anybody.
thank you in advance!

Welcome aboard.
The front spindles are the same for a six or V-8.
The eight inch rear that will fit are the 67-70 V-8 applications. On a stick shift it may require a different rear U-joint to mate up to the 8" rear.
Some of the other forum members have this deal nailed down, so I will bow out.

I'm not a stang guy either, plenty here, (1 or more along soon), but I am new to resto-mod.
I learned that buying straight from the well known model specific innumerable after mrkt co.s can get expensive (just go to their sites: mustangs unltd may B the name of 1).