Log head mods and pricing

69stang_250

VIP
Hey guys,

Just wondering for you guys that have worked with the log heads, how intensive have you or would you work on the log head for a performance build? What mods do you consider to be a must? And how much have those mods ran you?

I know a hardened seats, valve job, cleaning up the ports, exhaust devider, and a 2bbl conversion are those things that's nearly a must. I am just trying to see which is more cost effective. Building an engine with plans on putting an aluminum head on down the road or just taking what you already have an putting the aluminum head on now.

Just trying to help someone with a theoretical build at the moment.
They have a 200 that has about 10k miles on it since a rebuild, however that rebuild was 10 or so years ago.

Thanks for the input you guys!

Disclaimer: I AM NO EXPERT. This is just what I did...

I started with a C9 head so it had a larger intake volume. I cleaned up all of the combustion chambers myself with a Dremel, getting rid of all burrs and giving it a nice smooth (not quite polished) finish. I also port-matched the exhaust (leaving the exhaust ports just slightly undersized as this is supposed to help with avoiding reversion). I then used the Dremel again on all of the exhaust ports and gave them a nice smoothed surface. I probably spent 40-60 hours on this because: a) I've never done ANYTHING like this before, and b) well, I can be anal about things. I wanted to spend more time on it but I forced myself to stop....