Econoline Inline 6 200 Frustrations!

Hey Y'all!

I am new to form and even newer to working on classic cars/cars in general but I am mechanically inclined and can usually figure things out with a little help and photos. I purchased a 1964 Ford Econoline with a inline 6 200, 3 speed manual, and a 9inch rear end. The carb is the autolite 1100 with what I believe is the stock load-o-matic distributor. The heater and van have been removed, I don't know if this makes a difference or not but thought I'd mention it. I purchased the van from San Diego and drove it to Texas and it ran pretty good except for having to adjust the points, rough idling, some flat spots. Now that I am in Austin, Texas its worse. The long stop lights/stop and go traffic cause it to run inconsistent (start up is rough), heat soak issues at the stop lights, no really overheating issues from the what I can tell, and a ton of flat spots especially in 1st gear after sitting at a light, and lastly, gas fumes in the the cabin at the stop lights and after shutting it off. The summer is coming up and I need to know if its worth putting a bunch of money into this inline 6 in order to get it running as a daily driver or swap in a V8 (that is what every mechanic is telling me to do and I cant seem to find anyone to support the inline 6 in Texas). I'd like anything information from you all regarding the following:

I ultimately want to get this baby running smooth and consistent; I'd love to remove the engine and mill the cylinders but don't have the money to pay someone to do it all so at the moment, power is not my concern (Unless someone near Austin, Texas would like to help me out :D ) Im thinking the following bolt on parts will help my issues. Please let me know your thoughts and options for parts, specifically if you drive an econoline.

FlowKooler Water Pump
Champion 3 Row Aluminum Radiator (Recommendations if I need an electronic fan)
Weber 32/36 DGV (Manual Choke)
Weber Carb Adapter