Starter size issues

Hello all,

This is my first time posting. But I've been a long time reader.

About 2 years ago I found a beautiful 1983 Fairmont 200 with an SROD attached to it for $100. Never been bored. I had the bellhousing modified to accept a T5 w/S10 tailhousing. Fast forward and everything is in the car now, but yet to be started yet.

So I run down to the local parts store and order a starter for a 83 Fairmont or 83 Mustang 5.0. Bring it home and it doesn't fit. I take it back and order from Rock Auto and it's the same starter that doesn't fit. So I look up the block numbers and sure enough it's a 78-83 Fairmout. I tried looking for the bellhousing numbers but couldn't find them. Besides, it bolted up perfectly to the block. I've spent a week trying to look for bastard Ford Fairmont applications. Couldn't find any. All references to the starter are for the one that doesn't fit. The starter hole is big. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_1988.JPG
    IMG_1988.JPG
    5.3 MB · Views: 80
  • IMG_1990.JPG
    IMG_1990.JPG
    5.1 MB · Views: 80
Looks like a 2 bolt starter. I'd guess that any 80's-90s manual trans 2 bolt starter will work. You might try a trip to the local auto parts house with a ruler and some calipers. I have a starter for a 93 F-150 manual laying around I can check for you if you give me the specs of the bore, bolt center width ect. It's the same 2 bolt starter used on most all manual Fords from the 80's-90's. The manual 2-bolt starter has a slightly larger bore than the automatic, otherwise they look identical. Sometimes errors in parts references can get compounded across multiple applications. It is a small six though, with a high mount so who knows, it could be *special*

1963RancheroBase":218hzsr4 said:
Hello all,

This is my first time posting. But I've been a long time reader.