Need opinions on compression test: 66 Bronco 170 engine

tonyduc

Hi

Newbie here, bought a 66 EB back in September, in good shape except mechanically there is blue grey smoke coming out the exhaust. There is also a slight oil leak (1-2 drops/day) where the engine meets the tranny (rear seal?). Here are some compression numbers:

Cylinder 1 2 3 4 5 6
PSI 125 150 120 150 155 90 (115 after oil added to cylinder)

I followed Chilton's guidelines and since #6 was low, I injected a few tablespoons motor oil according to instructions. Compression went up about 30%. There is also wet oil on the block by cylinder 6 - I assume this means head gasket? But also the numbers at least from cylinder 6 implies worn piston rings?

The engine runs good, no knocking sounds. I therefore planned on pulling the engine, replacing the top end (pistons and rings), sending the heads out to a shop for a valve job. Perhaps replace the timing chain ? I am not a mechanic but I have rebuilt 2 cylinder motorcycle engines before, this is my first 4 wheel project. Seems more complicated but the basic concepts are the similar.

Thanks
Tony

Attachments

• IMG_1744.JPG
    IMG_1744.JPG
    2.3 MB · Views: 101
That's a really nice looking Bronco! Yes your thoughts are right with a 65 Lb. differance from the highest to lowest cylinders and blue smoke out the exhaust It's time for a full rebuild of the short block and head, if you want it to run smoothly. Good luck (y) :nod:

Agree, very nice Bronco. Its well worth the $$ to do a complete rebuild.
Check with Matt at vintageinlines.com for some specialized componets.
He stocks the full roller timing chain set which is well worth the money.
Since its an original 170 engine, you would probably would not be interested in a 200 engine for a lot more power. Now is the time to make that choice.

Hello! How are you? I'm from Argentina I'm very sorry if I do not explain well haha ​​..