200 Tuning help needed

sefus

The set up: stock 200 long block, rebuilt 1904 Holley, DSII @15 degrees base timing, plugs were gapped at just under 040, MSD coil and 6A ignition. I had it running ok but with a high idle, then 20 miles later I couldnt get it started. Pulled the plugs and they are showing that it was rich as can be. So on the 1904 carb, where there is no fuel air mixture screw, do I drop a few sizes in the main jet or what? My only other thought is a vacuum leak keeping the power valve open but I kind of dont think so. Any thoughts?

Oh and Im a complete carb novice so keep it simple lol

My situation is a little different but I will try to be helpful at least.

The 200 in my 1964 Mercury Comet has a Holley 1940 with the Spark Control Valve. In the long run, I ended up putting in a DUI distributor that seems to work really well. This required me to switch from the SCV to manifold vacuum. No big deal. It also means that the original 12 degrees of timing called for in my manual is bogus and I've been fine tuning the timing using a combination of a vacuum gauge and how it runs down the highway.

Why is this important to you? Does your Holley 1904 have a Spark Control Valve and is it functioning at all much less properly? Does your DSII/MSD ignition require some change in the timing setting? What kind of vacuum is the engine pulling? And just as importantly, is the reading being made at normal operating temperature? (I know this is kinda basic but feel it has to be thrown out there.)

Something else I found while digging around for information about the 200 is that some people have had trouble with the harmonic balancer slipping. I don't necessarily believe this because I thought they were keyed to the crankshaft, but, are you truly getting the 15 degrees on your timing marks? This would be most obvious according to the reading on a vacuum gauge.

It's not much but these are a few things for you to chew on.