76 maverick 250 new cam

Maholmes76

Just got a 76 Ford Maverick with 76,000 original miles. Car is really nice. It has the 250 straight six and I wanted to make it sound and run the way it looks. Any suggestions on where to start? I have just received the new cam, lifters springs and timing gears and chain and wanted to change the distributor. Was thinking pertronix? Any thoughts there? I am just a back yard mechanic but can get around a engine ok and wanted to do this with my boy. They car is for his 16th birthday.

Many beginners confuse the 240 with the 250 but they are different engine family’s. If your car is orginal with only 76,000 miles it will have 250 cu. in. small block Straight Six, the 240 / 300 are the big sixes and were never offered in the Mavericks stock. Of corse there have been a few Maverick race cars custom built with the big block six. The 1976 Maverick has the Dura Spark II electronic Distribitor that's already very good. But you could have it curved and also add a MSD contol box if you wanted. Good luck on your build up. You could add a direct mounted 2V carb, headers, and even a Turbo sky's the limit and or your budget. (y) :nod:

Hi, as mentioned, the Ford ignition is very good. I would not rush out and change original Ford parts for Chinese parts.
Get the Ford Falcon Performance Handbook from Vintage Inlines before you get in too deep.
Be aware you must degree your cam, see the Echo engine rebuild videos. The timing chain sets for the 200 engines are off. I'm not sure if the 250 timing chain sets are any good. I needed the adjustable crank sprocket from Vintage Inline for my 200 engine.
Good luck

W E L C O M E !!!
to the best forum on the site (right after):

viewforum.php?f=2

which may B your correct point of entry.

No matter we can help here as well. We got all kinza "back yard mechanics'. Most, 1st off w/a new to them, 50 yr old vehicle, set about