Click Here -> Please Consider Making a PayPal Contribution to the FordSix Forum!
2019 Contributors:
NJwpod, 1strodeo, mightynorseman, maxtrux, 6d7coupe, broncr, Phase3, 68Flareside240, bmbm40,
mustang6, WorldChampGramp, justintendo, BigBlue94, ags290, motorsickle1130, Rooster, ousooner919, ethanperry
rzcrisis, DoctorC, jamyers, Motorboy, fastpat, Silverback280, chad


<<< New Site Update >>>

Anyone had a T-5 put in?

Moderator: Mod Squad

Inlinefanatic1968
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:49 pm

Anyone had a T-5 put in?

Post #1 by Inlinefanatic1968 » Fri Oct 22, 2010 10:03 am

How much better is this transmission compared to performance and MPG since the ability to have 5 gears? especially highway? How does it compare to putting a Tremec in? Performance, difficulty converting? Anyone know where I can find parts to convert? I have a 200 with an auto, so I'm going to need everything and start from scratch.

User avatar
Cool23
Registered User
Posts: 679
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 7:20 pm
Location: Castlemaine Australia
Contact:

Re: Anyone had a T-5 put in?

Post #2 by Cool23 » Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:07 pm

I have a steel case Toyota 5 Speed behind my 170 in the T Roadster. That is a great gearbox.
V8's are great but Six Inlines Just Fine. Cummins Advert.

The link to my project on this forum http://fordsix.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=41598

User avatar
1967JMG
Registered User
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:17 am
Location: Orlando, Fl

Re: Anyone had a T-5 put in?

Post #3 by 1967JMG » Sat Oct 23, 2010 8:03 pm

I put a t5z form a 93 cobra and i have 3.73 rear end. before i did a cam and aussie head i was getting 27mpgs city...
1967 Mustang 200- Oz 250 Head, DUI, Holley 350 cfm, Isky 262H, Hooker Headers, 40 series Flowmaster, T5z, 9" 3.70 Posi

Inlinefanatic1968
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:49 pm

Re: Anyone had a T-5 put in?

Post #4 by Inlinefanatic1968 » Sat Oct 23, 2010 9:35 pm

Really? I have an auto so I have to convert and have all of the parts necessary. Any idea where I can get the 2.77 pedal, cables, etc? I have heard that the 2.77 bellhousing and all other parts, will work.

User avatar
pcoup41
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 10:52 pm

Re: Anyone had a T-5 put in?

Post #5 by pcoup41 » Tue Oct 26, 2010 1:23 am

I had a 3 speed and converted to a t5 from a late 80's 2.3 mustang and there was a huge difference in highway mpgs and it was great to be able to downshift to pass somebody
1966 coupe
200ci
5 speed

mysavioreigns
Registered User
Posts: 508
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 6:45 pm
Location: Arlington, TX
Contact:

Re: Anyone had a T-5 put in?

Post #6 by mysavioreigns » Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:06 pm

I'm in the middle of swapping mine now. It's actually pretty easy, once you read up on it and do quite a bit of research. And it's not as expensive as what most people say. I've scoured the forums and heard several people say it cost them anywhere between $1600-$2000. My total cost, besides labor, should come out to $865.84. I'm in the process of putting together a large write-up on my swap, but here's the parts I have needed to buy:

T5 Transmission w/o anything
Bellhousing
Shifter base (part of Shifter)
Clutch Fork
Driveshaft/Yoke
Transmission mount
Flywheel
Block Plate
RHINOPAC Clutch Kit
Throwout bearing (Comes with Clutch Kit)
Roller Pilot bearing (Comes with Clutch Kit)
Clutch alignment tool (Comes with Clutch Kit)
Flywheel bolts (just re-using the ones already on my car)
T5 Shifter
Shifter boot
Shifter boot trim
Clutch Pedal & Parts
Speedometer gear
Transmission Crossmember

This thread is PRICELESS in the knowledge is gives about the swap.

Good luck!
1966 Mustang
Rebuilt 200ci, 1970 head, Duraspark II, Weber DGV, C4
Future/Underway Plans: All new suspension, T5 Transmission, 2V Conversion

User avatar
AZstang66
Registered User
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:02 am
Location: USA

Re: Anyone had a T-5 put in?

Post #7 by AZstang66 » Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:33 pm

I put a Ford Racing T-5 in my '66 200 about 2 years ago. Extremely easy install, pretty much bolts right in. The only major(ish) mod you need to do is have the driveshaft shortened/balanced.
The transmission is waaaaaay better. Very solid, shifts like a dream, and has a nice overdrive. You can change the overdrive ratio to suit your needs- I had my one different for a race-favoured gear.

I bought mine new from ModernDriveline. Great service and price. I also installed Mustang's Plus' shifter for it, which moves the shift lever closer to where you sit in the stang.

Just make sure to do your research about which yoke to get, which adaptor plate, etc. If you do, it should be pretty seamless!

User avatar
I66coupe
Registered User
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 3:21 pm
Location: Winona Mn.

Re: Anyone had a T-5 put in?

Post #8 by I66coupe » Sat Dec 11, 2010 11:19 pm

For my '66, I put in a T5 from a '89 4 cyl. Used the original '66 bellhousing with adapter plate. '78 clutch disc and pressure plate. Made my own crossmember but there are several on the market. Used a later driveshaft (to fit the T5, also came with a vibration damper) and had the small U-joint installed on the back of the driveshaft to fit the rear pinion shaft. Modified and used the original shifter handle on the T5 stub (easy job, interior looks stock). the original speedo cable fit after I pulled all the slack out of the dash area (perhaps one from the slightly larger Fairlane would work better). Pilot bearing came with the adapter. '67 3 speed throw-out bearing.

Best thing I did to the car. But, If I were to do it again, I think I would use a V8 tranny and have the 4cyl overdrive gear installed. 1st gear goes by pretty quick. I think the V8 1st and 2nd would be better with the 4 cyl overdrive ratio. I find around here that the 4cyl overdrive works good and believe the V8 overdrive would be too tall. My '66 has the flat flywheel. '65 has that recessed flywheel. Spliced the back-up light wires to the T5 switch pigtail. The stock back-up light switch is mounted to the linkage, the T5 switch is internal. There is a plug-in connection for the back-up light wiring on the T5. My tranny came with the plug still on it and the wires were simply cut by the salvage yard. That was nice as it saved me a trip to get a plug for the T5. Just use the right plug on the T5. I got it wrong first try (hooked the lights to the neutral saftey switch) and my back-up lights only worked when the tranny was in neutral. :) I never did splice that neutral saftey switch into the ignition circuit. i should though.

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y27/I6 ... hifter.jpg
Rande "The Tachyon"
N4ZYV
1966 I6 Coupe.
1965 Jeep Gladiator
1937 International Pickup
1937 Chevy pickup

"If you find yourself in a fair fight, your tactics suck"

mysavioreigns
Registered User
Posts: 508
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 6:45 pm
Location: Arlington, TX
Contact:

Re: Anyone had a T-5 put in?

Post #9 by mysavioreigns » Mon Dec 13, 2010 9:48 am

That looks great i66. Did you have to do any cutting of the shifter hole in the floor?
1966 Mustang
Rebuilt 200ci, 1970 head, Duraspark II, Weber DGV, C4
Future/Underway Plans: All new suspension, T5 Transmission, 2V Conversion

User avatar
I66coupe
Registered User
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 3:21 pm
Location: Winona Mn.

Re: Anyone had a T-5 put in?

Post #10 by I66coupe » Mon Dec 13, 2010 1:59 pm

No cutting. The adapter tilts the tranny just a bit to put the shifter right where it needs to be. I think Modern Driveline sells it now.

The stock shifter has two mounting ears front andback. i cut them off. on either side there is a hole that I filled with weld. I then ground the sides smooth and at a slight angle so the handle would sit upright. then drilled two holes for the bolts to mount the handle to the T5 stub.

A hacksaw, a welder, a bench grinder and a drill. Done, looks stock. I then found a 5 speed shift knob at a junkyard (don't recall what it came out of). I think it sits an inch or so taller than stock but you really can't tell.
Rande "The Tachyon"
N4ZYV
1966 I6 Coupe.
1965 Jeep Gladiator
1937 International Pickup
1937 Chevy pickup

"If you find yourself in a fair fight, your tactics suck"

User avatar
xctasy
VIP Member
Posts: 6890
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 10:40 am
Location: PO Box 7072 Dunedin 9011,South Island, NEW ZEALAND
Contact:

Re: Anyone had a T-5 put in?

Post #11 by xctasy » Tue Jan 25, 2011 1:49 am

If you raise the gearing with the T5 4 cyl 2300 Mustang gearbox, fuel consumption improves 9% at a steady 62 mph. That's based on a stock 2600 pound 3.3 Mustang from any year from 1965 to 1982.

The rise in gearing is 20%. The reduction in engine speed doesn't reduce fuel consumption 20% because the wind resistance, rolling resistance, frontal area and drive train losses aren't reduced by 20%. The engine speed and power consumption are 1/5 th of the road load at about 60 mph.

This data comes from the Australian Standard emmission cycle test for highway conditions, which is at 62 mph. The US Federal emissions cycle test for highway figures does the same test at 55 mph.
Image
XEC Ltd ICBE's Inter Continental Ballistic Engines-
FAZER 6Bi (M112 & EEC5) or FAZER 6Ti (GT3582 & EEC5) 425 HP 4.1L/250 I-6
FAZER 6V0 3x2-BBL Holley 188 HP 3.3L/200 I-6 or 235 HP 4.1L/250 I-6
X-Flow Engine Components Ltd http://www.xecltd.info/?rd=10

User avatar
jet471
Registered User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 2:11 am
Location: Mississippi
Contact:

Re: Anyone had a T-5 put in?

Post #12 by jet471 » Fri Jan 28, 2011 1:29 pm

I66coupe wrote:
Best thing I did to the car. But, If I were to do it again, I think I would use a V8 tranny and have the 4cyl overdrive gear installed. 1st gear goes by pretty quick. I think the V8 1st and 2nd would be better with the 4 cyl overdrive ratio. I find around here that the 4cyl overdrive works good and believe the V8 overdrive would be too tall. My '66 has the flat flywheel. '65 has that recessed flywheel. Spliced the back-up light wires to the T5 switch pigtail. The stock back-up light switch is mounted to the linkage, the T5 switch is internal. There is a plug-in connection for the back-up light wiring on the T5. My tranny came with the plug still on it and the wires were simply cut by the salvage yard. That was nice as it saved me a trip to get a plug for the T5. Just use the right plug on the T5. I got it wrong first try (hooked the lights to the neutral saftey switch) and my back-up lights only worked when the tranny was in neutral. :) I never did splice that neutral saftey switch into the ignition circuit. i should though.

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y27/I6 ... hifter.jpg



I agree with I66, I have a v8 t5 in mine and 5th is just a tad high, 1-4 are awesome, but you have to run 4 up pretty high to shift to 5 and gain speed without getting into the throttle too much. IF you have engine performance modifications it may not be as bad.
Jet47
62 ranchero, 66 model 200 ci, duraspark 2, t-5, new floorboards


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests