HEI? and a blown 223?

A

Anonymous

Anybody know of anybody who makes electronic ignition set-up for a 223?

Also, I am attempting to put a paxton-mcculloch supercharger in my rig. Does anyone have any experience with this that could throw out any pointers?

Steve Evans,
Portland, OR
'56 F-100

Ignition?

I have no knowledge of anybody making such a thing (as a regular item), but it should be feasible to adapt another ignition. That type of modification is commonplace down here, as we don't have the parts resources of the US. It shouldn't cost you more than $350 ready to roll. While this seems pricey, consider that you are getting not only the electronics, but a rebuilt, recurved dizzy at the same time. It's streets ahead of the bolt-on things like Pertronix, which don't address the other issues of wear and "curve".

Cheers, Adam.

That's a terrific idea. It didn't even occur to me. Thanks.

Steve

orange county speed in fullerton, CA makes one. Mail them a distributor and they'll do the conversion, its going to cost you aroudn $210 if i remember. I switched my 223 over last year, and am very very happy. I cant say i got a huge boost in power, but it starts easier, i gained 2-3 mpg, and i havent had to sit on the side of the road fussing with points since.

I think i paid like $210 and it was all included, but its been a while.

I re-read the thread with a bit more detail though, and they are building them using the pertronix bits and flamethrower coil/wires.. which i guess you can get online and do yourself.

Here's my most recent one made to order (from several "donors"):

Pics click to show larger ones. I paid $450 for it, supplying my own cam gear, and about $60 shipping. In US dollars, that's a total of about $380-odd.

The coil is an aftermarket unit and cost me an extra $60? (about USD$45). It rocks!

Regards, Adam.

cal":p03qqhn5 said: