Guess it's a 262, blessing/curse

61 UNI

In 2014 I purchased a 1961 unibody. Pretty good shape. Been sitting 18 years according to previous owner. I have put about 20 miles on it in the last 3 years. Just putting around the neighborhood and whatnot. This winter I decided to remove the engine and trans and clean it up/fresh paint. I began collecting all the parts I would need for what I intended.
MSD controller
Duraspark dizzy
'64 oil pump and shaft
New camshaft/timing set/lifters
Full gasket set
Clutch kit
Alternator conversion
TFI coil
Starter/ring gear
Seal kit for transmission
Water pump

I am a Ford technician by trade. Brought the power train to work and began with the trans. It's a T98A four speed. Everything looked great and sealed and painted nicely. Helps having $100000 paint booth in the building.
Monday of this week I began tearing the motor down. I knew the cam distributor drive gear teeth were chipped. When I pulled the front cover I realized I had collected $500 bucks in worthless parts..... timing gears. Steel crank. No fuel pump lobe. Cast iron timing cover. 262.

I have since located a cam, water pump and hopefully have a line on the last part I needed which was crank damper repair.
I've read that these engines were standard option in 64 and other than that they were HD, well this is a light duty version with single groove balancer. Could this have been dealer installed option?

I'd say "curse" just cuz it's a 4 yr product (this site goes frm '60 - '96) truck & indust. motor/engine: