what fits what?

john michael

Hi to all,
I have two inline flathead engines, one is a '47 G series with a cast BH, clutch, 3speed side loader, and torque tube.

The other engine is a '49 H series, no drive line.

Will the '47 drive line fit the '49 without major surgery?

Well, I am pretty new to the H series. I am putting one in my 41 Tudor. So far it seems all the parts on the engine plate and back will interchange. I believe you can take the engine plate, bell housing, flywheel and clutch off the G series and bolt it up to the H series without any problems. Use the motor mounts too. I believe the only real difference is the oiling and ignition system. The G series is driven of the front of the cam while the H series is driven off the middle of the cam. I think even the intake and exhaust manifold interchange.
Maybe someone with more experience on these engines will chime in. So far it is working for me.
I am planning on getting it back in the car this weekend. So I will keep you posted if anything goes wrong.

I am grateful to hear and looking at both engines I believe you to be correct.
I even think the manifolds will swap...
going to try the H on the G bellhousing tomorrow

back to topic
the flywheel fits, the starter fits
the bellhousing would fit if I drill out a few holes, but I can't bring myself to do it!