Click Here -> Please Consider Making a PayPal Contribution to the FordSix Forum!
2019 Contributors:
NJwpod, 1strodeo, mightynorseman, maxtrux, 6d7coupe, broncr, Phase3, 68Flareside240, bmbm40, mustang6, WorldChampGramp, justintendo, BigBlue94, ags290, motorsickle1130, Rooster, ousooner919, ethanperry, rzcrisis, DoctorC, jamyers, Motorboy, fastpat, Silverback280, chad, drag-200stang, THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER, Jimmys61falcon, rjonah, Sooshi, Robert92867, Invectivus


PLEASE TEST ON http://dev.fordsix.com

<<<***PLEASE READ*** New Site Update >>>

Any of you all placed a 302 and 300 balancer side by side?

Moderator: Mod Squad

clintonvillian
Registered User
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:33 pm

Any of you all placed a 302 and 300 balancer side by side?

Post #1 by clintonvillian » Mon Feb 03, 2014 8:13 pm

Just curious if anyone has set them side by side for comparison. Maybe someone has a 302 balancer in there shop or on their vehicle they could pull some dims on?

chessterd5
Registered User
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 1:56 pm

Re: Any of you all placed a 302 and 300 balancer side by sid

Post #2 by chessterd5 » Mon Feb 03, 2014 8:58 pm

What do you need to know?

clintonvillian
Registered User
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:33 pm

Re: Any of you all placed a 302 and 300 balancer side by sid

Post #3 by clintonvillian » Mon Feb 03, 2014 9:24 pm

I know that the hub that sits in the motor needs 1/4" machined off to get it to the right length.

My question is are the belts in the same locations?

User avatar
StrangeRanger
VIP Member
Posts: 5789
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 5:54 pm
Location: Copley, OH

Re: Any of you all placed a 302 and 300 balancer side by sid

Post #4 by StrangeRanger » Mon Feb 03, 2014 10:09 pm

You'd also have to trim the eccentric weight off the 302 balancer and have it re-balanced to a zero imbalance.
1996 F-150 (tow missile)
1993 Mustang 5.0 (hot rod and auto-x monster)
1982 Tiga Formula Ford (SCCA racecar)
2013 Hyundai Elantra Coupe (daily driver)

clintonvillian
Registered User
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:33 pm

Re: Any of you all placed a 302 and 300 balancer side by sid

Post #5 by clintonvillian » Tue Feb 04, 2014 8:16 am

You can purchase a zero balance/ Internal balancer for the SBF's.

chessterd5
Registered User
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 1:56 pm

Re: Any of you all placed a 302 and 300 balancer side by sid

Post #6 by chessterd5 » Tue Feb 04, 2014 9:32 am

I have both in the garage. I'll compare them this afternoon & get back to you.

CNC-Dude
Registered User
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 6:06 pm
Location: N. Ga.
Contact:

Re: Any of you all placed a 302 and 300 balancer side by sid

Post #7 by CNC-Dude » Tue Feb 04, 2014 12:36 pm

clintonvillian wrote:You can purchase a zero balance/ Internal balancer for the SBF's.

The dangers of interchanging balancers that aren't designed for a specific dampening frequency have been discussed in another thread on here and on other forums. Just because they would both be neutral balanced doesn't mean they will work and be compatible together, even on a stock engine.
Image

User avatar
THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER
VIP Member
Posts: 6464
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 9:25 pm
Location: FRENCHTOWN

Re: Any of you all placed a 302 and 300 balancer side by sid

Post #8 by THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER » Tue Feb 04, 2014 2:14 pm

I use Boss 302 balancers because I found a good deal on them used. Bosses are internally balanced. The snout sticks out a quarter inch farther, but you can machine it down if it will help you sleep nights.

Having said that you can get a 300-specific damper from a few suppliers. Talk to ATI and Fluidamper. I think they can fix you up.

Re not having it tuned properly for a six - I look at it this way:
Its a lot like having a shock absorber on the axle of your car. While it may not be the perfect choice it is darn better than running with no shock absorbers at all.
FORD 300 INLINE SIX - THE BEST KEPT SECRET IN DRAG RACING

Broncitis
Registered User
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:36 pm
Location: Raton, New Mexico

Re: Any of you all placed a 302 and 300 balancer side by sid

Post #9 by Broncitis » Tue Feb 04, 2014 10:55 pm

Oh my their is no belt grooves on these balancers, I bet we will have three forums on this.
69 Early bronco, 4.11, toploader 4speed, 68k 3inch body lift, ET about 50 something!!!

Broncitis
Registered User
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:36 pm
Location: Raton, New Mexico

Re: Any of you all placed a 302 and 300 balancer side by sid

Post #10 by Broncitis » Tue Feb 04, 2014 11:01 pm

the fluid dampner may have the widest frequency range possibly.
69 Early bronco, 4.11, toploader 4speed, 68k 3inch body lift, ET about 50 something!!!

clintonvillian
Registered User
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:33 pm

Re: Any of you all placed a 302 and 300 balancer side by sid

Post #11 by clintonvillian » Wed Feb 05, 2014 9:19 am

Right, you have to purchase the pulley seperate which bolts to the balancer. If the pulley ends up being the same distance on the V8's as the 300's then it opens up a lot of options.

User avatar
THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER
VIP Member
Posts: 6464
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 9:25 pm
Location: FRENCHTOWN

Re: Any of you all placed a 302 and 300 balancer side by sid

Post #12 by THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER » Wed Feb 05, 2014 8:00 pm

I guess I should have mentioned that I made my own pulley system because my Fluidamper and my Moroso have no pulley grooves.
FORD 300 INLINE SIX - THE BEST KEPT SECRET IN DRAG RACING

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 52 guests