Cam Selection for Weber DCOE carbs

Moderator: Mod Squad

Captainslow42

Cam Selection for Weber DCOE carbs

Post #1 by Captainslow42 » Wed Dec 27, 2017 12:15 am

Does anyone here have experience with running 3 Weber side draft carbs on a 300? I'd be interested to know if there are any rules I ought to adhere to for selecting a cam. I have been led to understand that DCOEs perform best with high lift, moderate duration cams, with a high LSA due to reversion problems with overlap. But I'm just an amateur with an ambitious project! I'm not looking for anything too radical, as this engine is going into a car which will be frequently driven around town, and which will most likely never see a track or a drag strip, and I don't want to be stalling at stop lights and getting 5 MPG. I have been looking at a selection of comp cam and isky products, but I'm not sure where to start, so I'm open to suggestions! Thanks!

rbohm
Assistant Admin

Re: Cam Selection for Weber DCOE carbs

Post #2 by rbohm » Wed Dec 27, 2017 2:50 am

it really doesnt matter what cam you choose, so much as how you tune the carbs. reversion can be a problem with individual runner carb systems, even using holley carbs. we had the problem with pro stock cars and reversion running tunnel rams and holley dominator four barrel carbs. it usually happens though as you noted with large overlap cams, and usually at higher rpms, and even then usually in a narrow rpm band.

so pick a cam that operates in a wide rpm band, and get the tuning for your webers right, including the tuning of the air horns. as i recall, longer air horns means reversion happens at a higher rpm. its been a while since i have tuned an IR system.
64 falcon
66 mustang
05 grand marquis

my mind is aglow with whiriling
transient nodes of thought
careening through a cosmic vapor
of invention

Captainslow42

Post #3 by Captainslow42 » Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:06 pm