Turbo 240 or 300

Moderator: Mod Squad

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #151 by Ramian17 » Fri Oct 06, 2017 1:22 am

Perfect I just ordered that bbk will be here Saturday. Which one of those fuel rails that you showed me do I need to go with? As soon as I get that and the bbk in we will be building the plenum!!!!

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #152 by Ramian17 » Tue Oct 10, 2017 9:56 pm

So I got my bbk throttle body and it has a place for another sensor or something to mount to it? Two bolt holes and it looks like two other holes and it has a gasket. I read the installation instructions for the mustang and it sounds like the EGR valve might bolt to it? Does any one know what bolts to the throttle body? Thanks

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #153 by pmuller9 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:46 pm

That is for the Idle Air Control valve or IAC.
You will need it for idle rpm control.

Should be Genuine Ford Part# CX1824, E9AZ9F715BA

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #154 by Ramian17 » Sat Oct 14, 2017 2:33 am

Thanks pmuller I ordered the IAC and it will be here Monday. It looks big. It's going to be a tight fit under the dog house for sure. Any idea on which fuel rail to go with? I tried calling that company and sent them an email with no response. Do you know what the sensor in the stock manifold I'm using is? I might have to cut the manifold past that hole. Whatever that sensor is could it be mounted in the plenum?

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #155 by pmuller9 » Sat Oct 14, 2017 4:41 pm

The hole is for the Intake Air Temp sensor or IAT and it can be mounted into the plenum.

Try to email Ross Machine Racing one more time next week.
If you still get no response try http://www.proweldperformanceparts.com/id23.html
They carry the same Dash 6 fuel rail and intake plenum extrusions.

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #156 by Ramian17 » Sat Oct 14, 2017 5:09 pm

Awesome thanks for that link I'll hit up the other guys again and see if I have any luck.

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #157 by Ramian17 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:21 pm

So I got a stock fuel rail what is the big regulator looking thing? And does it have to be there? Can I cut it out and mount a different one somewhere else. Also what is the little Schrader valve I'm pointing at. Also which way does the IAC valve mount on the throttle body does the sensor mount go towards the front or rear of the throttle body?

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #158 by pmuller9 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:49 pm

The big regulator looking thing is the fuel pressure regulator and a different regulator can be mounted elsewhere in the line
The Schrader valve is the fuel pressure relief valve..

The motor of the IAC hangs off the front of the throttle body
Last edited by pmuller9 on Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #159 by Ramian17 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:57 pm

Awesomeness thanks for the reply. We are definitely going to cut out and relocate the pressure regulator then. It's looking like I have room for the IaC to go wither way which way would you go with lol

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #160 by pmuller9 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:02 pm

I just took a closer look at the inlet and outlet for the IAC valve and it looks like the motor hangs off the front of the throttle body.

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #161 by Ramian17 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:30 am

cool and the motor side is the side without the sensor attachment correct? it won't let me post any more pics it says my board attachment quota has been reached :cry: . we almost have the stock fuel rail moved and mounted and have cut the stock 300 intake manifold to prep it for the plenum construction. Will the schrader valve need a little hose when would that thing be blowing off?

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #162 by pmuller9 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:30 am

The motor side of the IAC valve is the end with the black connector.
Have that end facing forward or towards the front of the throttle body.
https://www.americanmuscle.com/ford-iac-8793-gt.html#

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #163 by Ramian17 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:23 pm

So we got the new mounts for the fuel rail all welded up. When I was putting the injectors in. I noticed that the mechanic didn't do any head work!!!!! He didn't even polish the head and I know I told him to machine spots for the injectors and to Port and polish it!!!! Now what do I do? I'm guessing the notch in the upper corner of the intake hole is pretty important?

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #164 by pmuller9 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:13 pm

Post a picture of the intake port so we can view the valve guide boss.
The work in the bowl area is the important part of the job.

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #165 by Ramian17 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:42 pm

ok you want a pic of the intake hole on the head right? i hope it keeps letting me post pics i didn't take any tonight because i didnt think it would let me post them. i will take some tomorrow. here is some that i took a couple nights ago of the fuel the rail and the plenum mocked up. for some reason it is letting me now.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #166 by Ramian17 » Sun Oct 22, 2017 6:05 pm

Do you still haver that taller valve cover pmuller?

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #167 by pmuller9 » Sun Oct 22, 2017 7:13 pm

Ramian17 wrote:Do you still haver that taller valve cover pmuller?

No, sold it.
I was able to clear the rocker adjustment nuts using two cork cover gaskets.

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #168 by Ramian17 » Wed Oct 25, 2017 2:08 am

so I'm trying to be wishful that we will finish the plenum tomorrow. in the planning of the plenum build i was wondering at what point between the turbo and basically the throttle body do i need to change the intake piping from the smaller turbo outlet size to the larger 65mm of the throttle body? or does it not matter? i feel like the two options are right out of the turbo meaning the piping all the way to the intercooler and then to the throttle body has to be that larger 65mm, or between the intercooler and the throttle body.

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #169 by pmuller9 » Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:29 am

Turbo size tubing between the turbo and intercooler and Throttle body size tubing between the intercooler and throttle body.

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #170 by Ramian17 » Wed Oct 25, 2017 11:59 am

Awesome thanks for the reply. i hope i can make it all fit!!! will i need an adaptor after the intercooler or can i get an intercooler with different sized openings?

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #171 by pmuller9 » Wed Oct 25, 2017 3:01 pm

It looks like most of the big universal intercoolers are 3.00" inlet and outlet.
I would adapt at the intercooler inlet and outlet.

drag-200stang
Registered User
Posts: 740
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 6:10 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #172 by drag-200stang » Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:36 pm

pmuller9 wrote:It looks like most of the big universal intercoolers are 3.00" inlet and outlet.
I would adapt at the intercooler inlet and outlet.

X2 :thumbup:
66 Mustang Coupe
200 turbo w/lenco 4-spd
stock adj. rockers, stock timing set, ARP studs
best 1/4 mile ET 9.85/best mph 139 on 8 lbs progressing to 15 lbs boost
Went 9's when 10's was fast.

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #173 by Ramian17 » Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:17 pm

awesome will do. sorry for so many questions but what size intercooler do i want and how do you figure that out?

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #174 by pmuller9 » Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:58 pm

This is a case where the "bigger the better".
If it is possible, get one about the same size as the radiator and place it in front.

Are you able to post a picture of the intake port?

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #175 by Ramian17 » Wed Oct 25, 2017 11:52 pm

i tried to post a picture but it is back to saying that the board attachment quota has been reached? you didn't want me to take the head off and take a pic of the bottom of the head did you? really i want an intercooler that big?!?!?! what if it is a little smaller lol? i tried to do some research on intercooler sizing and there is a lot of info to sort through. would you know some measurements for what would be the perfect sized intercooler for this application?

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #176 by pmuller9 » Thu Oct 26, 2017 8:59 pm

Is there room behind the front grill to mount something 30" wide and 12" high?

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #177 by Ramian17 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 10:35 pm

Yeah I think something like that might fit. I will need something that is 12 inchs tall and around 30 inchs wide. My new question is can I just buy intercooler core like you can radiator and then weld some custom tanks on the end with the openings facing the way I need them and the size I need?

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #178 by pmuller9 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:05 pm

I was looking at something like this.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Rev9-V-Mount-T ... gz&vxp=mtr
http://vi.vipr.ebaydesc.com/ws/eBayISAP ... cureDesc=0

Yes, you can get just a core and build you own side tanks.
Last edited by pmuller9 on Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #179 by Ramian17 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:10 pm

Cool yeah something like that would probably fit. I'm just not sure about the piping to and from. Might have to go with custom tanks just to help with piping. Is one that size definitely big enough for my job? I might just buy one like that and then cut and modify the tanks as needed?

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #180 by Ramian17 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:11 pm

Did you get the pics I emailed you does it look like that will be good enough?

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #181 by pmuller9 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:21 pm

Ramian17 wrote:Did you get the pics I emailed you does it look like that will be good enough?

Yes I did.
There wasn't any port work done that I could see.
Here is what my head intake port looked like.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/hoxt81l1paszf ... t.JPG?dl=0

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #182 by Ramian17 » Sat Oct 28, 2017 12:12 am

Yeah looks way different than mine :cry: :x I'm pretty in happy with the shop. Well what do I do now? Take it back and make him take the head off and pay more for more work lol?

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #183 by Ramian17 » Sat Oct 28, 2017 12:20 am

Correct me if I'm wrong but from what I understand porting is kinda a big deal worth lots of$$$$

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #184 by pmuller9 » Sat Oct 28, 2017 12:55 am

Ramian17 wrote:Correct me if I'm wrong but from what I understand porting is kinda a big deal worth lots of$$$$

Yes it takes a lot of time to port using a die grinder and also expensive if done by CNC.
If you did not get charged for port work then it is fair.

The larger valve will help and low rpm performance will be fine.

Do you have the cam card with the cam specs?

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #185 by Ramian17 » Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:29 pm

so we are ordering the stainless for the header and will be working on it as soon as it gets here. what size tubing should i go with? The headers that came off of the motor where 1 5/8 in tubing is that what i should go with? I was thinking that while i was waiting on the SS order that i could convert this distributor over but i have no idea how to go about that lol so any advice is always welcome. it currently has a pertronix ignitor sensor in the distributor.

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #186 by Ramian17 » Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:37 pm

oh yeah I'm about to order that intercooler off of eBay are you sure that is the size i want? i did tons more research and there is just so much info out there!!! basically i am trusting you on almost this whole build cause you hadn't noticed. i will admit i am way over my head hehe. so just confirming i guess that this is the money shot when it comes to intercoolers for my set up??? lol

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #187 by pmuller9 » Tue Oct 31, 2017 11:26 pm

1 5/8" tubing for the header is perfect.

I'm assuming you are still going to use the Holley HP EFI system.
If so you need the Ford 4.9 distributor that supplies a PIP signal and has no mechanical or vacuum advance.
I believe it was for the 1987 - 1991 engines. It will look like this with the gray module mounted on the side but the cap will be black.
The Cardone 84-2687MA should get you a new distributor with cap, rotor and module.

Image
The HP EFI has a cable that plugs directly into the distributor module. The Cardone 84-2687MA should get you a new distributor with cap, rotor and module.

The intercooler is rated at 550 hp and has the inlet and outlets are facing back towards the engine which I'm hoping will work for you.
It should mount directly behind the front grill so it gets plenty of airflow going down the road.
Last edited by pmuller9 on Tue Oct 31, 2017 11:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #188 by Ramian17 » Tue Oct 31, 2017 11:40 pm

Awesome i would love to use that stock distributor!! Will it sill allow for fully sequential firing with a coil packs near the plug? I was going to go megasquirt but honestly i want to go with whatever you can give me best maps that will work for me lol. So which ever you think is better in terms of engine control?

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #189 by pmuller9 » Tue Oct 31, 2017 11:52 pm

It will work with either the Megasquirt 3 or the HP.
The PIP signal from the distributor has one pulse that is 30% shorter than the other 5 which defines cylinder #1 so you can have sequential injection and sequential ignition.

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #190 by Ramian17 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 12:57 am

Perfect that is great news you are the man pmuller thanks for all the help!!!! I will be ordering the tubing tomorrow and also starting on the 3/8 inch mount that will bolt to the front of the motor. I guess I would ask you should I go extra mount and header made of tubbing or go pipe?

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #191 by pmuller9 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 2:58 pm

I don't think you can get pipe size in 1 5/8" ?

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #192 by Ramian17 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 4:22 pm

I definitely found 1 3/4 and it would probably be close to the same ID. The reason I ask is cause I talked to Burns stainless yesterday and set up a quote for tubing and collectors. He said that to do it with the extra mount on the AC bolts on the front of the motor. I would need to put a full 180 bend in every pipe right before the collector to allow for expansion and contraction if I want any chance at a long life header. I think it is do able but am going to go look at the van again and talk to my buddy before I spend the $$$$$$. What do you think is he correct? I like the idea of the extra mount or is better to go pipe if I can get the right size and the bends?

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #193 by pmuller9 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 5:11 pm

Can they make a collector to fit 1 3/4" pipe"

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #194 by Ramian17 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:29 pm

Well I'm here looking at the van and what do you think of going turbo mount on AC with a piece of flex tubing between the header and the mount?

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #195 by pmuller9 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 9:31 pm

Flex tube is too thin and wouldn't hold up to the heat very long

The bracket that bolts to the engine block just has to hold the weight of the turbo off the header pipes.
I would sandwich a thick plate between the collector and turbine inlet that sits on a cutout in the bracket
It would hold the weight of the turbo but allow movement as the pipes expand and contract.

I'm assuming the collector faces upward and the turbine housing outlet faces downward.

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #196 by Ramian17 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 9:54 pm

My collectors will probably be mostly parallel to the ground. the turbo inlet will face parallel to the ground too. It has to be like cause I am mounting the turbo up front so all the pipes and collectors will be working that way. How important in your opinion is it make all the pipes the exact same length? You don't like flex pipe like this stuff?
https://www.aceraceparts.com/products/2 ... 1309751620

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #197 by pmuller9 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:36 pm

Still wouldn't use flex. Besides you were going to collect 3 pipes for one side of the twin scroll and collect the other three to the other side which are rectangular in shape.
I still would make a shelf that the turbo sits or hangs on to hold the weight but allow forward and back movement.

It would be nice if all pipes are the same length but packaging come first.
Do what you can.

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #198 by Ramian17 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 11:06 pm

I guess I can't picture what you are describing it sounds like the way to go though lol. I'll show it to my welder fab buddy and see what we can come up with. You have any pics of such a set up? But yeah I would like to not use flex pipe, not use schedule what ever pipe, and not have to put huge 180° bends in tubing. I bet my buddy was trying to figure out what you're describing he was trying to think of a way to make the turbo mount flex.

pmuller9
Registered User
Posts: 1446
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Columbus, Indiana

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #199 by pmuller9 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 11:35 pm

How about something simple.
Have a single arm that bolts to the collector flange and goes up to a bracket or goes down to a bracket depending on turbo location.
The arm can be a 1/4" thick, 1/2" wide and a couple inches long piece of steel.
Between the arm and the bracket that it connects to, it will allow plenty of flex.

If you want to get fancy use a tube with Heim joints at each end as the arm.

This is what we had supporting heavy 88mm turbochargers.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/234q25rl6uv9n ... 1.JPG?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/qyt5v6gw274ww ... 4.JPG?dl=0

Ramian17
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:39 am

Re: Turbo 240 or 300

Post #200 by Ramian17 » Thu Nov 02, 2017 11:05 am

Cool thanks for the pic that helped a lot. Yeah my welder buddy thought that we could totally build an arm that would be week enough to flex but strong enough to hold the turbo. I mean we are talking thousands of an inch of flex here right?

Return to “Turbo, Supercharger, and Nitrous”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests