Whats the limit?

A

Anonymous

I'm new to pushrod engines(or carbs for that matter...) so be gentle. What exactly is the limiting factor with the 200 c.i. reaching 400 hp with a turbo? I want and will get 11-12 sec. DAILY DRIVEN from a 200, who has done this or why won't it happen?

Doofnoil":2edx9hpo said:
I'm new to pushrod engines(or carbs for that matter...) so be gentle. What exactly is the limiting factor with the 200 c.i. reaching 400 hp with a turbo? I want and will get 11-12 sec. DAILY DRIVEN from a 200, who has done this or why won't it happen?
there heads are less then great, they choke the engine's out because they flow like crap. turbocharging helps this but, it still shows as a limating factor. 200 hp, even 300 hp arn't out of reach with the right parts, 400 on a stock log head is possible, a member on here cranked out 450 HP out of a draw thru turbo setup 200 I6 with the log head in the early 80's, but he did it with lots of boost and avaition fuel. an OZ 250 2V head would greatly increase your chances of achiving the 400 hp goal. in the next few months, mike will release his new aluminum head, which is slightly better flowing than the OZ 250 2V head. Does 10's on here built a '63 Falcon with a TC'd 250 and the car runs in the 11's.

Doof, why not run with your strengths? If you understand EFI better, you're probably best placed to convert the motor that way. It'll take soemcreativity, but then you won't be hamstrung by carb issues.

u wont need 400hp to run 11-12's in the quarter like they said will is running 11's and he only has 283hp at the wheels but makes up for that with 450ft/lbs of torque at the wheels now it can be done rather easily if u have welding skills and mechanical skills along with alot of reading in this section and try to find posts by does10s hes the one with the turbo falcon that is runnign the 11's with a streetable car

Doofnoil":35lb8zej said: