Supercharging a Ford 300

80ford100

I am thinking about supercharging my daily driver 300. The current setup is as goes, 300 inline 6 stock compression, pistons, crank, comp 268 cam, ported and polished head with screw in rocker studs, stock rockers, comp cams hydraulic lifters, stock push-rods, offy dual port intake, heddman headers, summit 650 cfm carb, stock duraspark 2 ignition, and stock oil pump. I'm new to the supercharging thing and need to know what I will need, what supercharger, how to plumb it, if it will run with my current setup, what will work with 87 octane gas, and basically anything else that I can't thing of that I might need.\
I've had the taste of power and I want more, so I thought, put a blower whine under the hood!! :mrgreen:
Thanks, John

You'll probably need a cam with a wider lobe separation angle. How much boost are you considering.

I have no idea really. An amount with an increase in power worth the cost, but nothing crazy that I can't drive back and for to school every morning. What do you recommend, like I said I'm knew to this supercharger stuff. :)
Thanks for the reply :beer:

I dont think you can run much more than 6 psi on 87 octane without running into serious knock issues. If you have access to e85 or want to run meth injection then you could run much more but that sounds a bit outside your scope.

6 psi should provide about a 50-75hp boost and even more torque, noticeable and fairly safe for a daily driver.

To get an idea of what's involved Search for posts by "the last F100" he built a supercharged 300 a couple years back. Good luck :nod:

I can't help you too much with you setup being carb'd and supercharged. I'm mostly an EFI and turbo kinda guy but aside from tuning (a huge part by the way) and the actual supercharger itself, you'll need:
Wideband O2 Sensor (Innovate, AEM, etc.)
Boost Guage
Some way of controlling timing (MSD or something equivalent)