Tuning a blow through carb with boost

thatblue_67stang

I need help tuning or getting my carb to run not so rich at idle but rich enough at wot. I have electric fuel pump. Holley boost reference fuel regulator, holley 2300 with boost referenced bowl and power valve. Is there anything else I can do to help it not run so rich at idle and run good at wot with boost. I'm wondering if drilling the powe valve holes with help. Any help is appreciated

Drilling the power valve hole is one of the important modifications to a blow-thru carb.

You should have been able to adjust the idle mixture with the 2 idle adjustment screws.
Where you able to adjust the idle for maximum idle vacuum?

I'm new to Forced Induction and want to learn more, here's a few comments:

Which Holley 2300 are you using 7448-350CFM or 4412 500CFM carb?. Do you use an AFR gauge?.

My supercharged 250 blow-thru setup started with a 500 cfm 4412 and I could not get near a good AFR. The AFR was way too rich with the 4412 and typical 'H18' mods. I had no success with enlarged PV ports . Now AFR's are getting closer to 'Stoichiometric' levels with a 350-7448 and incrementally smaller main jets. currently running '62' main jets, 7448 has blow out protector sealed for bowl-pressure boost-ref Power Valve and some 'Hangar18' type sealing mods. My cruise and WOT AFR's are very good @ 14:1 typically but still idle/low speed is a little fat @ 12:1 . I have Ignition locked @ 28 degrees @ full , Elec fuel pump and carb hat boost ref' fuel pressure reg.'.

I made no progress tuning until I added a fuel bowl vent extension @ 4" into charger tube. Without extension carb would run OK until boost then swing from lean to rich, load up and sputter.

I'm running @ 5-8lbs boost max with the Vortech SC, previous 250 with T3 turbo didn't like 15-20 lbs boost capability - the piston lands blew off with a plume of oily blue smoke across my windshield ...

Have( boosted) Fun

pmuller9":17jw9fvp said: