Carb Orientation?

A

Anonymous

Right now I'm running my 600 cfm Holley 4 Bbl so the bowls are facing front and back because if you run the carb so the bowl faces side to side it will hit the shock tower.

Would there be any performance increasce if you did orient the carb so it sits side to side?

2008_0216christmas070020.jpg

I want to know theory and real world experience, not it should run better because I say so....

I'm considering notching the shock tower to make it fit. I'm also an experienced Bodyman/frame tech/painter so I've worked on hundreds of unibodies so I know how to notch a shock tower PROPERLY and SAFELY so dont concern yourself with that prospect of it.... ;)

Also what about the fact of the fuel rushing to the side of the bowl on launch vs the way it sits right now as far as the jets are concerned?

I realize that there are other less drastic ways of making the carb fit like making a new adapter plate and shaving the intake but I can pull the carb, cut the tower, reweld it and paint it in 2 or 3 hours so thats the most expedient way for me too do it.

Thanks,

Doug

Don't have my Holley book with me at work, but if the primaries and secondaries are equal size, shouldn't make any difference at WOT if the secondaries open all the way. Had my Holley mounted both ways on my 300 six and didn't notice a difference. From the design of the manifold it looks like it would get better fuel distribution if the primaries were mounted closest to the shock tower. One barrel to feed 3 and one to feed the other 3. The way you have it now, the primaries would have preference to the front 3. Just my two zinc pennies worth. Alex.