efi just getting started

rustyc756

have a 200 i6 and want to put on efi but so far i feel a little overwelmed with all of the info found so farlooking for some guidence on where to start. maybe how does this mega squirt unit work how do i learn to build one. i have lots of questions. i called classic inlines and the shop owner said u guys would be the ones to ask.

what is a good throttle body to use and why

If you're a complete novice, the other kind of sites to look at are ones like "howstuffworks" and good old Wikipedia. Everyone has to start somewhere. ;) Megasquirt also runs its own forums.

The most critical aspect (in my opinion) of an EFI retrofit to these older motors is good monitoring/controlling. That will probably require a little creativity in fabricating stuff.

A final caveat on EFI installs - they require a healthy motor. There's no real gain from installing it onto a worn-out unit, as you'll not get performance to match the cost outlay.

Cheers, Adam.

There is no such thing as a bolt on plug and play system for our motors. There are some that are easier than others depending on your skills and goals. Megasquirt has a fairly steep learning curve but I think is by far the most versatile system out there today. When you are finished you should truly understand how and why things work so you are going to be in a much better position for trouble shooting and future mods and upgrades. I love the 'open' nature of it. You are not depending on some corporate board deciding on what features to implement. Much of the MS development comes from users.

I have a MS system on one of my cars now and soon plan on doing it to my 200 using the 'tempo' throttle body. Here is a thread the Moe$ started that many of us have contributed to.
http://fordsix.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=38349

Here is another recent thread:
http://fordsix.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=49047