Click Here -> Please Consider Making a PayPal Contribution to the FordSix Forum!
2018 Contributors:
StarDiero75, curts56, DannyG, B RON CO, wsa111, Captainslow42, falconcritter
Econoline, THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER, 95FordFleetside, turbo6, Max_Effort, WorldChampGramp
cr_bobcat, C.S.Designs, pmuller9, gus91326, rwbrooks50, rocklord, drag-200stang, Big64my79Effie, CNC-Dude, gb500

2019 Contributors:
NJwpod, 1strodeo, mightynorseman, maxtrux, 6d7coupe, broncr, Phase3, 68Flareside240, bmbm40,
mustang6, WorldChampGramp, justintendo, BigBlue94, ags290, motorsickle1130, Rooster, ousooner919, ethanperry

Unknown->> M.Ketterer, T.Smith, J.Myers, P.McIntire - Please PM me (1966Mustang) and lemme know who you are!

ground issue

Moderator: Mod Squad

SteveStang
Registered User
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:13 pm
Location: Oshawa,Ontario,Canada

ground issue

Post #1 by SteveStang » Sun Aug 30, 2015 2:53 pm

Both my fuel gauge and temp gauge stopped working.They were working and they have not for awhile.Checked fuses,they are ok,checked both ground to frame and to battery all good
.
Could it be voltage regulator?
A
Stereo,lights etc work fine

Thanks

User avatar
ludwig
VIP Member
Posts: 3262
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 12:11 am
Location: Las Vegas, baby!!

Re: ground issue

Post #2 by ludwig » Sun Aug 30, 2015 3:09 pm

Dashboard voltage regulator? Looks like a little aspirin tin on the back of the panel board.
Image

Livin' the dream. Dad n' daughter.

SteveStang
Registered User
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:13 pm
Location: Oshawa,Ontario,Canada

Re: ground issue

Post #3 by SteveStang » Sun Aug 30, 2015 3:27 pm

Thanks
I take i need to take the dash out and its sitting there on the back
Appreciate your reply

SteveStang
Registered User
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:13 pm
Location: Oshawa,Ontario,Canada

Re: ground issue

Post #4 by SteveStang » Sun Aug 30, 2015 5:38 pm

Ok
Never have taken the instrument panel befote but got the screws out and i can pull this thing out about 2 inches and it seems to bind on the speedo cable.Is there a trick to this or do i need to undo the speedometer cable so i have room to work
That seems easy enough but its getting it back on after that seems tough

Thanks

User avatar
ludwig
VIP Member
Posts: 3262
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 12:11 am
Location: Las Vegas, baby!!

Re: ground issue

Post #5 by ludwig » Sun Aug 30, 2015 8:44 pm

You can unscrew the speedo cable with your fingers if it is not too tight. If it is too tight, just start it with a wrench and unscrew the rest of the way. When you put it back, just run it up finger tight - but tight.

I have taken the panel out probably half a dozen times for bulbs and connections and to track down power leads, It is really no big deal. Just that you have to take the speedo cable off.

If you are worried about the paint on your column, lay a towel on it. Unscrew the cable before you pull the panel next time.
Image

Livin' the dream. Dad n' daughter.

SteveStang
Registered User
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:13 pm
Location: Oshawa,Ontario,Canada

Re: ground issue

Post #6 by SteveStang » Mon Aug 31, 2015 5:20 am

Thats great
Thanks for the info

SteveStang
Registered User
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:13 pm
Location: Oshawa,Ontario,Canada

Re: ground issue

Post #7 by SteveStang » Mon Aug 31, 2015 3:37 pm

Got the dash out.Not a lot of room to work with until i unscrewed the speedo
To install,where on the other end can i unscrew the speedo to give more slack because it will be tight

Also,when i got the dash out,i noticed a red/black wire with a plug on it not connected to anything
Any ideas what this is?I have a scematic book but cant find

Thanks

User avatar
ludwig
VIP Member
Posts: 3262
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 12:11 am
Location: Las Vegas, baby!!

Re: ground issue

Post #8 by ludwig » Mon Aug 31, 2015 4:20 pm

The other end of the speedo cable is at the tranny.

As for that wire, I don't know. There are a bunch of dead wire plugs that go into optional equipment like clock and dome light and stuff. Off hand, I don't know what that would be.
Image

Livin' the dream. Dad n' daughter.

SteveStang
Registered User
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:13 pm
Location: Oshawa,Ontario,Canada

Re: ground issue

Post #9 by SteveStang » Mon Aug 31, 2015 4:35 pm

Do appreciate your help

Thanks

SteveStang
Registered User
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:13 pm
Location: Oshawa,Ontario,Canada

Re: ground issue

Post #10 by SteveStang » Sat Sep 12, 2015 1:47 pm

Put the new voltage reg in behind the dash and still nothing when engine is running but when i have only accessory on both gauges now go all the way left

SteveStang
Registered User
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:13 pm
Location: Oshawa,Ontario,Canada

Re: ground issue

Post #11 by SteveStang » Sat Sep 12, 2015 1:48 pm

Sorry,all the way right

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests