two barrel carb on one barrel intake

Moderator: Mod Squad

colobronco

two barrel carb on one barrel intake

Post #1 by colobronco » Wed Jul 27, 2005 1:28 pm

I have an old railroad car that has a 300 in it. It came from california and i'm running it up here in Colorado at 5,000+ feet. So its running rich. I orderd a new carb from Napa that is still running rich and now has no acceleration. (bad new carb) I told them that it was from california and need a high altitude carb but they just ordered what ever they sent. My question is: i have a few old two barrels carb i pulled off of early broncos, could i get a two to one barrel adapter and run one of them? Do you think i'll still be rich with the stock motor?

Brian

User avatar
SuperMag
VIP Member
Posts: 2125
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 11:29 pm
Location: God's Country, Idaho
Contact:

Post #2 by SuperMag » Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:16 pm

Simply bolting on a two-barrel will do nothing for you, as it will be rich as well.

The stock 1V carbs did not come as a high altitude version (other than the rare specimen that came with an aneroid). Rather, the stock 1V (and the rebuilt unit you have) can be adjusted to run at the higher elevation without having to re-jet. The adjustment screw is *inside* the float bowl. This screw raises/lowers the metering rod, and turning it counterclockwise leans the mixture.
"...and he that hath no sword, let him sell his cloak and buy one." --Luke 22:36

colobronco

Post #3 by colobronco » Wed Jul 27, 2005 4:58 pm

i will look for that tonight. i was in there the other day and don't remember seeing one. the carb i have on it is a FOMOCO, if that helps at all.

Brian

User avatar
SuperMag
VIP Member
Posts: 2125
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 11:29 pm
Location: God's Country, Idaho
Contact:

Post #4 by SuperMag » Wed Jul 27, 2005 5:20 pm

Then my response won't help you; it was directed to the Carter YF, which is the typical stock carb on these motors. I don't know which FOMOCO carb you have, but you may have to rejet to get it to perform correctly at high elevation.
"...and he that hath no sword, let him sell his cloak and buy one." --Luke 22:36

User avatar
THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER
VIP Member
Posts: 5356
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 9:25 pm
Location: FRENCHTOWN

Post #5 by THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER » Thu Jul 28, 2005 10:08 pm

Railroad car? I'm a rail fan, tell me more. Does it actually run down the rails or is it an ex- railroad highway vehicle?

Eagerly awaiting a reply on the island of Sodor.
FORD 300 INLINE SIX - THE BEST KEPT SECRET IN DRAG RACING

Guest

Post #6 by Guest » Fri Jul 29, 2005 3:13 am

Someday when I get my own place out in the country with my own RR spur, I'll find a used SD40-2 and park it on the spur. Maybe it could generate power in case of emergency.

colobronco

Post #7 by colobronco » Fri Jul 29, 2005 11:30 am

THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER wrote:Railroad car? I'm a rail fan, tell me more. Does it actually run down the rails or is it an ex- railroad highway vehicle?

Eagerly awaiting a reply on the island of Sodor.


Its a Fairmont made "gang Car". Mine is a A-6 model. the Maintenace crews used them on the rails to do track inspection/work from the 30's up to the early 80's, then they switched over to the highway trucks with the hyrail gear on them. I"m a member of NARCOA and we go all over north america and least/rent rail lines to go run our cars. check out http://www.narcoa.org Alot of these lines you can only see from train or hiking, with my arthritis i can't hike much.

colobronco

Post #8 by colobronco » Fri Jul 29, 2005 11:38 am

Boyd wrote:Someday when I get my own place out in the country with my own RR spur, I'll find a used SD40-2 and park it on the spur. Maybe it could generate power in case of emergency.


We have a musuem over in Boulder and though about doing that too, but there are alot more efficient ways of generating power. We have an SD9 that we need batteries for but they are very expenise. we also have a 90 ton GE switcher that runs, so we play with it most of the time. We never grew up our toys just got alot bigger! 8)

http://www.boulderrail.org

User avatar
SuperMag
VIP Member
Posts: 2125
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 11:29 pm
Location: God's Country, Idaho
Contact:

Post #9 by SuperMag » Fri Jul 29, 2005 12:38 pm

Ahhh, I get it now.

Image
"...and he that hath no sword, let him sell his cloak and buy one." --Luke 22:36

User avatar
THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER
VIP Member
Posts: 5356
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 9:25 pm
Location: FRENCHTOWN

Post #10 by THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER » Fri Jul 29, 2005 2:33 pm

Thanks for sharing. I did not know that some railcars had 300s. Those cars don't look too massive - can you tell us a little about how they perform? Top speed? Gradeability? Hauling capacity? Transmissions? They look like lots of FUN! I'll bet a few gallons of gas and a couple rolls of film or video buys you a great day of fun.

Kinda like drag racing, come to think of it.
FORD 300 INLINE SIX - THE BEST KEPT SECRET IN DRAG RACING

Lazy JW
FSP Moderator
Posts: 5448
Joined: Fri May 16, 2003 10:25 pm
Location: Careywood, Idaho

Post #11 by Lazy JW » Fri Jul 29, 2005 9:15 pm

A friend of mine up in BC has a sideline business buying and selling those cars. We always called them "Speeders". Most of them had little two cylinder engines that made a distinctive put-put sound.
Joe
"The White OX" 1974 F-350 300-6, Stock single exhaust, Carter YF, T-18A, Dana70 w/4.11, Flatbed dually w/dump bed. "Where no oxen are, the crib is clean, but much increase is by the strength of the ox" (Proverbs 14:4)
Image

User avatar
addo
VIP Member
Posts: 10618
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 3:06 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post #12 by addo » Sat Jul 30, 2005 5:10 am

The famous Trabant motor?
Most of them had little two cylinder engines...


So, is the one described above, a "modified rail"? :P

User avatar
curts56
VIP Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 12:15 am
Location: San Jose, California

Post #13 by curts56 » Sat Jul 30, 2005 6:32 pm

I run around in an A-6 once in a while out at the tourist railroad I work at. It has a Ford 223 in it. You'll sit there and polish the wheels on the rails if you bump the throttle without the thing being loaded with people.

Curt

User avatar
addo
VIP Member
Posts: 10618
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 3:06 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post #14 by addo » Sat Jul 30, 2005 8:44 pm

That's cool. A steel-on-steel burnout. Doesn't it have a sand/grit feed to the driven wheels for extra traction?

User avatar
curts56
VIP Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 12:15 am
Location: San Jose, California

Post #15 by curts56 » Sat Jul 30, 2005 9:35 pm

Unfortunately no sander.

Guest

Post #16 by Guest » Sun Jul 31, 2005 1:49 am

Sitting in a bar once my brother got into an interesting conversation with a retired guy. When this guy was a teenager him and some friends gathered up a bunch of wheel bearing grease and greased the rails of a track that climbs west out of the Mississippi river valley going west from Winona to Rochester Minnesota. They hid in the trees and watched as a steam powered freight train was coming up the hill. The engines wheels started spinning and the train come to a complete stop as the engine couldn't get enough traction to climb the hill. I've seen a bit of that track and I would guess quite a stretch of it is 2% grade.

User avatar
curts56
VIP Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 12:15 am
Location: San Jose, California

Post #17 by curts56 » Sun Jul 31, 2005 9:24 pm

The steam engine I run drops enough oil on the track when your sitting that sometimes you have to sand before you start moving even when the grade is flat.

Curt

Lazy JW
FSP Moderator
Posts: 5448
Joined: Fri May 16, 2003 10:25 pm
Location: Careywood, Idaho

Post #18 by Lazy JW » Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:40 pm

curts56 wrote:The steam engine I run drops enough oil on the track when your sitting that sometimes you have to sand before you start moving even when the grade is flat.

Curt


Pictures :!: Can you post some pictures? We love trains :D
Joe
"The White OX" 1974 F-350 300-6, Stock single exhaust, Carter YF, T-18A, Dana70 w/4.11, Flatbed dually w/dump bed. "Where no oxen are, the crib is clean, but much increase is by the strength of the ox" (Proverbs 14:4)
Image

User avatar
curts56
VIP Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 12:15 am
Location: San Jose, California

Post #19 by curts56 » Mon Aug 01, 2005 1:41 am


User avatar
THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER
VIP Member
Posts: 5356
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 9:25 pm
Location: FRENCHTOWN

Post #20 by THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER » Mon Aug 01, 2005 11:26 am

curts56 wrote:The steam engine I run drops enough oil on the track when your sitting that sometimes you have to sand before you start moving even when the grade is flat.

Curt


HEEEEeeeeyyy! You just gave me an idea for an accessory for my quarter mile drag car!
FORD 300 INLINE SIX - THE BEST KEPT SECRET IN DRAG RACING

User avatar
curts56
VIP Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 12:15 am
Location: San Jose, California

Post #21 by curts56 » Mon Aug 01, 2005 12:09 pm

Hey Frenchtown,

A sand dome on top of your dragster might look cool.

Curt

colobronco

Post #22 by colobronco » Mon Aug 01, 2005 6:22 pm

I have a friend working up at the george town loop railroad. He said the other day someone oiled up (over filled) the Journal boxes on the Passenger car axles. it leaked out and greased the rails for them. lol At least they have sanders and just had to take another run at it.

colobronco

Post #23 by colobronco » Mon Aug 01, 2005 6:29 pm

addo wrote:That's cool. A steel-on-steel burnout. Doesn't it have a sand/grit feed to the driven wheels for extra traction?


I just got back from working on the Creede branch out here in Colorado. It runs from South fork to Creede, CO. We were useing a guys M-19 to pull ties/rail/tools around. He was doing about a 1/4 mile burn out before he had enough speed to slow the engine down and let the wheels grab. Too bad you don't get any smoke. that would be cool.

I have a bunch of photos i could post but i'm not sure how to on here. I guess i have to put them on a web page first.

Guest

Post #24 by Guest » Mon Aug 01, 2005 11:41 pm

Maybe a new section could be started on this site like "Fords on Rails"?

If you spin wheels on any engine enough, can't you grind out little dips in the rails.
Likewise if your engine or speeder is moving along and you lock up the wheels can't you flat spot the wheels just like tires on a car.
I did that once on my Mazda B2000 and didn't have the money to buy new tires. Not fun driving with 2 flat spotted tires.

User avatar
curts56
VIP Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 12:15 am
Location: San Jose, California

Post #25 by curts56 » Tue Aug 02, 2005 1:17 am

Yes you can put dips in the rails.

http://csx-sucks.com/pictures/?melted.jpg

User avatar
THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER
VIP Member
Posts: 5356
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 9:25 pm
Location: FRENCHTOWN

Post #26 by THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER » Tue Aug 02, 2005 8:30 am

Boyd wrote:Maybe a new section could be started on this site like "Fords on Rails"?

If you spin wheels on any engine enough, can't you grind out little dips in the rails.


We seem to have uncovered a whole sub-set of Ford 300 / rail fans.

curts 56, Only one set of drive wheels? Or did a power line fall across the tracks? Man, did we hijack this post.
FORD 300 INLINE SIX - THE BEST KEPT SECRET IN DRAG RACING

User avatar
curts56
VIP Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 12:15 am
Location: San Jose, California

Post #27 by curts56 » Tue Aug 02, 2005 11:27 am

Frenchtown, you're right. Time to get back "inline".

Curt

tilly 56
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:28 am

Re: two barrel carb on one barrel intake

Post #28 by tilly 56 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 12:23 pm

curt 56 i have a 56 f100 question
how or what did you use for engine mounts for the 300 six cylinder in the 56 f100 ?

User avatar
curts56
VIP Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 12:15 am
Location: San Jose, California

Re: two barrel carb on one barrel intake

Post #29 by curts56 » Sat Jul 14, 2018 1:13 am

I originally used a front motor mount, like was used with the 223:

Image

This time around I made my own cross member and motor mount brackets:

Image
Image

If I recall FTF fabricated similar motor mount brackets, but they were much more stylish than mine.

User avatar
THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER
VIP Member
Posts: 5356
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 9:25 pm
Location: FRENCHTOWN

Re: two barrel carb on one barrel intake

Post #30 by THE FRENCHTOWN FLYER » Sat Jul 14, 2018 9:25 am

Yours are darn close to my champ car. For others contemplating similar mounts the biscuit assemblies are available from Speedway and others and are like OEM flathead V8.

FORD 300 INLINE SIX - THE BEST KEPT SECRET IN DRAG RACING

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests