All Small Six 61 falcon 200l6. Full overhaul. Keeps leaking coolant external on dr side

This relates to all small sixes

Gml motorsports

I’m at my wits end with this one boys,I have been an engine builder and machinist for ten years
Never had this issue before. I built an engine for a customer of mine it runs great awesome response28 miles to the gallon ! he was happy until it started leaking coolant on the driver side of the block between the head and block . The block was bored .040 decked and the head was gone thru completely all new parts. he probably had 50 mi on it when we noticed the leak so we replaced the head gasket With felpro 7916pt1. Head and block were true still leaked 20 mi later , replaced bolts with studs cut down front passenger stud that contacts water pump and used thread sealer chased bolt holes used appropriate arp lube on fastener still leaks. Took off head Magna flux block and head pressure tested block and head. No crack at all put back together with the studs. And the high track sealer on head and block still leaks. I am so over the project I wish he would of bit on the 302 swap 🤦‍♂️

Usually head and block deck will fix that, I hear good things about Hylomar spray. Is it possible that the radiator cap is not relieving excessive pressure?
One good thing about the 200 it won't split in half if you boost the crap out of it and the intake will never leak:).

Last edited:
The Fel-pro PT gasket is the best off shelf gasket for boost but for sealing water, oil, I think that because the silicone does not go in a complete circle may cause leaks and a regular composite gasket may seal better.

... before adding another favorite assembly method / adjunct, can you be 101% sure it;s not an oil trail from the VC ?. I've had similar issues 🙄
With fresh milled true surfaces a standard composite gasket with or without sealant should not be the problem. Keep it s... .

my $ .02:
Copper spray sealant light coat , ARP fasteners - torque to your specs'.