All Small Six Beginner question about 144

This relates to all small sixes

JoeCrozier

Hello! Second post on here (after my introduction post).

So I got a 1961 144 for the low-low price of free about a week ago. It was lying in the dirt outside and about to be taken to the scrap pile. I'm a total beginner to Ford six's, my only experience with engines at all was when I rebuilt a Honda motorcycle engine about a decade ago. For the last week I've just spent my time cleaning the mud off, removing exterior pieces like the carburetor etc... so that I can see what I'm dealing with.

Well, I finally got to the first thing that made me think to myself "that doesn't seem right". Let me explain:

(let me know if those links dont work, I'll figure something else out)
What it looked like when I got it into my garage:

What it looked like with stuff taken off and cleaned up:

Now the problem:

This main pulley (crankshaft right?) seems bent out of place, I thought at first looking at it that it might be warped, but holding a straight edge against it luckily it doesn't seem warped:

That said, it is smashed right up against the rest of the engine, I can't even slide a piece of paper between it and the engine, that doesn't seem right:

My gut reaction is to take it off and see what I'm dealing with, which brings me to my next question: HOW? Is it just the bolt pictured right in the center of it? Normal lefty-loosey? I gave it a brief tug but it didnt start loosening and I didnt want to break it. (have torn 3 other bolts already)

Lastly, I'd imagine that pulley could spin right? Well it doesn't at all. The transmission is currently on, that wouldn't prevent it would it? Does that mean its 'frozen'? Should I just try to spin it harder? Am I totally headed the wrong direction?

Hello JoeCrozier,
I too have a 144, its currently installed in a '61 falcon 4dr sedan. Ive done a bunch of upgrades to it if you want to check out my other posts.