All Small Six 1965 Ford Mustang Coupe 6 cylinder 170ci engine performance upgrades

This relates to all small sixes
Hi, I am a college student who has gifted a 1965 Ford Mustang Coupe with a 6 cylinder 170ci engine and manual 3 speed transmission from my grandfather. I am very new to working on cars and know little to nothing, I have been learning by essentially reading and watching youtube videos online. This car had been sitting in my grandfathers sideyard for 30 plus years not running. After replacing many of the needed parts under the hood, I was able to get the car driving again.

My end goal with the vehicle would be to swap the transmission for a manual trans and 6I engine for a v8; however, this is extremely expensive and I do not have the knowledge to do this at this point. I am slowly upgrading the necessary accessories to accommodate a v8, starting with disc brakes, steering, and suspension. Most of the problems I have run into are finding the correct parts at the right price. The latest issue has been finding a new 9" rear end for the car. What I would like to start with on my way to fully restoring this car is an upgrade to the performance of the engine that is in it now. I am unable to personally take the engine out of the car as I do not have the space, the knowledge, nor the tools to do so.

I briefly understand the fastest and easiest ways of upgrading the 170ci's performance would be a thorough cleaning of the cylinders/engine and upgrading the intake and exhaust. Once again, I am a college student and have a capped budget. I am hopefully looking for advice, part suggestions, questions to ask, types of mechanics to go to for things that I shouldn't maybe be doing myself, criticism, etc...

Here are some pictures of the vehicle right when I had first gotten the engine running again. A couple of the parts you see in the engine might be slightly out of date.
Thank You for the help

Attachments

• IMG_5517.jpg
    IMG_5517.jpg
    9.1 MB · Views: 21