All Small Six 200 six ignition and/or timing problem?

This relates to all small sixes
Hello on here.

I have a 1965 Ranchero with the original 200 and three on the tree
I got it last year and have not been able to get it running right. At first it ran, but could not hold a steady speed without stumbling, so I found myself either accelerating or coasting.
I took the aftermarket copy of the 1100 out, took it apart and found that it was missing both check ball and load piston in the acc bore.
The engine still has the original Load o Matic distributor, which I can se is a hated item. I am new to these Fords, but not to old cars, so still learning about them.

So, what do I have here? A double sided problem? A can of worms? New shopping ahead?

I have a feeling that both the timing and the (probably) Chinese carb is the problem, but need good input before importing stuff like crazy. I am in Denmark, so the usual go-to stores are overseas to me.

Thx in advance

Thomas

Attachments

• tempImage1iBK9X.png
    tempImage1iBK9X.png
    13.6 MB · Views: 6
Check your fuel flow, an original tank can easily have a partially clogged pick up sock. Fuel line could also have partial blockage over the length. Easiest first thing to check. Check your oil for a fuel smell, fuel pump diaphragm could be giving out.

I've only run the original Load-O-Matic dist. on my '63 170, never had issues with it.