All Small Six Autolite 1100 - tube from manifold to choke

This relates to all small sixes

shreqshack

I am working on my carburetor (autolite 1100) on my 1965 Mustang. I noticed that the tube (heat riser?) from the manual to choke to the manifold had rusted off and is no longer connected? What's the best way to go about fixing this? Is this a "heat riser tube"? I am a novice...so I am not sure what my options are for repairing this.
Thanks for your help!!! :)
1625145599507.png

Yes, that's your heat riser tube. I haven't needed to replace one in a stock manifold though, I replaced mine with a longer unit i strapped to my aftermarket header. I believe it pokes through into a hole in the manifold. that hole may be blocked by the rusted remains of the old tube. I'm unsure of the best way to clear it an replace it.

I run my manual choke 1100 without it. My '63 carb doesn't have the bake-o-lite cap on the choke assembly..
It sounds like you don't notice any difference running the car without the tube connected? Is that right? Why does the choke need heat?

No, I do run it with the tube. in a stock manifold, the tube goes through the middle of it, and out the bottom. as the tube is heated by the exhaust/exhaust manifold, the hot air within the tube rises and heats the spring in the choke housing. as the temp changes, the springs pressure on the choke butterfly lever changes, and it opens the choke.

Because I have an aftermarket header, it has no provision for the tube to go inside, so i just strap it to the outside of one of the exhaust runners. It still heats up, and sends the hot air up to the choke module on the carb.

Other ways to do it are with hot water, electric, or manual chokes. I have a manual on my 73 Bronco now, and I dislike it, going electric. My mustang is still hot air.