Help identifying 200 3sp setup

hoodooman

Hi everyone, I'm brand new to fords. I picked up a 66 mustang that I'm attempting to get back on the road. The car originally had a 200/c4. The car now has a 170 from a 61 falcon in it and a c4 auto. the 170 runs, but runs badly and needs totally rebuilt. I found a gentleman on CL that is selling a 200 and a 3sp manual trans. he says it's out of his 65 mustang and that it runs good. I'd like to pick it up if it's a decent setup. I've only seen pics of the engine/trans so far. I'm scheduled to go look at it, 3 hours away, after christmas. the guy has everything for it - shifter, linkage, bellhousing, flywheel zbar etc... Here's what I'm worried about.

- The block seems to be a 65 from the numbers on the block "C5DE" (so, this is NOT a dual-pattern block that can use a v8 bellhousing)

- The transmission has 9 top cover bolts, so to me it would be the 3.03 three speed, not the 2.77 (4 top cover bolts) three speed that was original behind a pre 67 block

- he has a 9" non-dished flywheel (didn't the 170/early 200 ONLY have the 8.5" dished flywheel?)

- the trans/engine are currently not mated. he SAYS this setup came out of his car. I'm concerned about the 3.03 not being able to be mounted behind a non- dual pattern block. from my research, that bellhousing/transmission CANNOT be mounted behind an inline 6 that is not the dual pattern block. only the 2.77 trans/belhousing 8.5" flywheel.

so my question: is it possible to put the 3.03 trans/bell behind the 65 single pattern 200 block? or is this guy trying to fool me? from my research, it is not possible. i don't want to drive the 3 hours to check it out and find out that the bolt patterns don't line up between the bell and the engine.

Here is a link to the pictures I have hosted on dropbox. https://www.dropbox.com/sh/so5uyrc215mb ... XH1Ha?dl=0

i really appreciate everyone's input. thank you so much!

hoodooman":32yfw4l2 said: