What did I do?

ArtemisI6

Okay, the distributor has been so difficult to turn that I couldn't accurately time the car. I removed it last night and put a new o-ring on it today, and cleaned it up. Now it goes in and out and moves just fine. This is my first time R&Ring a distributor so I'm second-guessing myself at every turn after tonight.

At first the distributor would not go all the way in, so I had my girlfriend bump the starter with the key a few times so it'd line up with the oil pump shaft. I finally got it to go all the way in except for the final 1/4". I figured that'd be ok for now, let's see if the thing'll start. I get in to start the car and it cranked for a little while, maybe five seconds. Then as it was cranking it began to hesitate. It would crank, stop for half a second, then continue, then stop cranking again, then continue... then it stopped and would no longer crank. It didn't slow down, it just halted. I can turn the engine over with a ratchet on the crank pulley so I know nothing is getting in the way of the rotating assembly.

So I figured I'd check everything out with my voltmeter. I'm sure this is something simple but electrical makes my head spin and I got out of it just as I started to comprehend it a year or so ago. I have 12.6v at the battery, which is cool by me.