My 200 w/AC overheats what about fitting a 390 radiator?

preston215

I have a 67 Mustang w/AC that overheats w/o the AC running. I have tried an AL rad for a six but overheats w/AC running. I want overkill cooling so I know a 390 will work but getting it to fit is another new set of issue. The hoses for example, there is a size change between the outlet pipe on the rad going back into the engine and hose length could be different as the inlet and outlet pipes are probably different from the original six. Then there is the main problem, is the radiator support for a 200 six going to accommodate a 390 radiator w/o cutting into the radiator support? Anyone done this that can give me some detailed advise? :unsure:

I'm no expert on fitting a larger radiator but it would seem that maybe you have another cooling problem if even an upgraded aluminum radiator can't handle the job? Do you live in a really hot climate? Also I have heard timing issues and running lean can cause overheating problems.

The 390 Rad fits without cutting , BUT , it takes different mounts , The inlets and outlets are also very large in comparison to a 200 6 ( I own a original S code( 390) 68 Mustang the upper is on the pass side lower on drivers , It uses a saddle mount with a clamp on top ( I have for sale by the way ) the outlet and inlets can me adapted down , the easy way is by using the summit racing rad hose kit ( cut to fit stainless ) its very nice, durable and also helps with cooling , pm if your interested

I doubt that a larger rad would solve the problem.
What about the heater core? Could it be gunked up and restricted?
You'd be amazed at how much rust can accumulate in the head itself.
There are plenty of folks here that don't have heat problems with stock parts.
Has it ever boiled over?

Without a doubt, the radiator is NOT the problem. Does it overheat around town or during freeway driving?

Do the easy stuff first, time your engine correctly, both initial and full advance.