Starting! not so much, I could use some help

Nick1966

I'm not a mechanic.

Here is the issue:
Key in the ignition and turned to accessory and you have power. Radio works, horn works. Turn the key to start and nothing. I think I hear a bump from the starter

Here is what i've done so far:
- replaced started this year
- replaced solenoid a week or so ago
- replaced the distributer cap a few months ago
- charged the battery
- cleaned off battery terminals
- made sure contact to starter was tight and clean

It is not making the blown solenoid click. Any advice would help greatly appreciated!!

you might have a bad ignition switch. also make sure the battery has enough power to turn the starter, just because you can run the lights and play the radio on the battery doesnt mean it has power to turn the engine over.

that list looks good, it's in the order of "stuff done".
Did it run after the cap (last thing) was replaced?

Before you change any other parts, jump it at the solenoid and see if it turns right over.

You mentioned cleaning and checking battery terminals but didn't mention the ground at the block, or chassis.

If you jump the solonoid and it still doesn't crank there is a problem in the primary battery cables or connections. And since you checked the battery terminals and the starter lead, it is likely the ground. If the cable is not grounded to the engine, install a ground cable between the engine and chassis. You can never have too many grounds. :beer:

Thank you all for the continued information. I will try them all before purchasing a new ignition coil

Nick1966":33xlkroc said:
Thank you all for the continued information. I will try them all before purchasing a new ignition coil