Is a 223 from a 59 truck the same as a 223 from a 60 Edsel?

Lebowski

The 223 in my Edsel burns a quart of oil every 75 miles so I'm going to replace it. The only guy I could find in the Louisville area wanted $6k to rebuild it and he couldn't even start on it for 8 months so I bought a good running used 223 out of a '59 Ford pickup from a guy in PA. It has a 3 speed manual trans as does my car so I'd like to know if there will be any problems swapping them. Is the trans in the truck geared the same as the car? I see the motor mounts are different and the '59 has the element type oil filter and my car has a screw on one. Any other differences or potential problems? Also, I've never done an engine swap before so is there anyone in my area who would want to help me with the swap? (It would actually be me helping you.) I have an engine hoist that I borrowed from a neighbor and a 2 car garage to do the work in. I would post pics but I don't know how to do it on this site. Thanks....

:unsure: There are severial differences between the car engines and trucks since you also have your car engine you should be able to transfer over all the right parts. You might take a few pictures of the car engine to refer back to or make some notes. The truck trans (usually trucks have different tail housing shorter) so drive shaft lenght of car would be too short, and bell housing (side engine mounts) are much different so just use your car parts and it will bolt back together just as it was. The front motor mounts are also different use all the car mounts. The oil pan sump and oil tube pickup maybe different on the truck and so check that out carefully and change if nessisary, the front timing cover might also need to be change check that it matches to your car one. Good luck :nod:

Thanks for the tips. I wrote them down and will pass them along to the guy who is going to help me when (if?) I find someone....