All Small Six 83 large log exhaust porting

This relates to all small sixes

Dr_Dan_WWW

Subscriber
Supporter 2021
Should I use the exhaust port divider?
I am in middle of gasket match porting the exhaust on a 83 head. But it doesn't look like I gain much from porting the middle dual exhaust. I mean, I can port back about maybe 3/8 of an inch (??). Will the port divider make a large difference in performance? (The Handbook seems to say it does/it doesn't??) Will the divider make a difference if it isn't ported like the other four exhaust ports?

I am going to use headers.

What do I do about this center exhaust?

Pictures show only two exhaust ports ported. Notice the scribe marks on all the ports. This is my first time ever porting. I am learning on the exhaust before the bowls.
Thanks for any guidance.

Attachments

• IMG_6835.JPG
    IMG_6835.JPG
    2.5 MB · Views: 23
  • IMG_6836.JPG
    IMG_6836.JPG
    2.9 MB · Views: 22
  • IMG_6837.JPG
    IMG_6837.JPG
    2.5 MB · Views: 25
Last edited:
nota 'porter' here. Great job onda IMG_6837.JPG tho.
For me? the divider is for splittig the gases inta the tubes (headers in usa language) & supportin the gasket.
These motors? no gasket match on exhaust. Just not worth da time...

I just bought the Clifford port divider, arrived yesterday. As I'm also going to use headers and because of the smaller inlets for cylinder 3 and 4 I decided to get the divider. I will use the Remflex 3061 gasket which is designed specifically for use of the divider. I will bond it in with Resbond 907...
I also read a lot of bad things about the divider, but without it the exhaust flow to the header must be terrible I assume. Time will tell if it was worth it...

Attachments

• 20210929_203737.jpg
    20210929_203737.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 4
Hi, when I cleaned up my head I did most of the work with the sanding rolls rather than the carbide burr. Mostly smoothing and blending. Nothing major.